Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

Have a really dumb question? Ask it here to get help from the experts (or those with too much time on their hands)

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
Coldbringer
Archmage
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm

Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#1 Post by Coldbringer »

As the title states, I have to start playing on a new computer. I currently play through steam. Aside from enabling cloud saves, what should I do to make sure there is a smooth transition, so that all my characters & progress is still there and not lost?
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."

helminthauge
Thalore
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 3:43 am

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#2 Post by helminthauge »

manually copy your save and configuration files. You can find the location in the FAQ from off-site. it's in ~/.t-engine 4 on linux (I don't play on Windows so I have no idea where it is there).

HousePet
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 6169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#3 Post by HousePet »

Do not enable cloud saves. That is the opposite of smooth.

Unlocks will slowly sync while you are logged in to the games main menu. Save files will have to be copied over manually.
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.

Coldbringer
Archmage
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#4 Post by Coldbringer »

HousePet wrote:Do not enable cloud saves. That is the opposite of smooth.

Unlocks will slowly sync while you are logged in to the games main menu. Save files will have to be copied over manually.
Will the copying of save files invalidate those games, making the characters unable to use the vault?
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."

HousePet
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 6169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#5 Post by HousePet »

I have no idea. But I wouldn't expect so.
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.

Coldbringer
Archmage
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#6 Post by Coldbringer »

Thanks for the replies. The situation is, I have an old computer I'm still using that runs windows Vista. And unfortunately I do not have the money to buy a new computer with decent specs right now. Was thinking about getting a cheapo netbook that could play TOME and other basic functions. BUT I'm wondering if there's a way to keep playing on this computer with all my current characters.

Problem is Steam no longer supports Vista as of Jan 1st, and I play TOME through Steam. So, I was trying to figure out how to install Linux Mint, apparently Steam will run on that?

Also thought about buying the game and all DLCs through Good Old Games (GOG) and moving the save files over, but then I have to figure out how to get all the mods I was using previously so my characters can be played. And would I have to uninstall Tome first after copying the save files so there aren't multiple copies of the game on my computer?

All options suck, any advice?
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."

HousePet
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 6169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#7 Post by HousePet »

Umm... you can just download ToME from the website and if you have your Steam account linked, you will already own the DLCs.
It will just use the save/unlock files already on the computer.
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.

Coldbringer
Archmage
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#8 Post by Coldbringer »

this is weird. Steam is still running and the games load fine.... it even has the warning on the front page of the Steam app that it will stop running on Vista in 0 days lol! Was supposed to stop working on January 1st, it's now the 4rth. Hmmm... oh well, not complaining.

In case it does actually stop working, how do I link my steam account with the Tome website?
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."

HousePet
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 6169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Switching to new computer, how do I not lose everything?

#9 Post by HousePet »

Log into the te4.org website, go to your profile, then go to the Steam tab and follow the instructions.
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.

Post Reply