Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

If you have a module that you'd like comments on or would like to know how to create your very own module, post here

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply

What do you want to see in the next release?

Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite race/subrace/class yet? (specify below)
1
17%
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite skill/talent/spell/ability yet? (specify below)
2
33%
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite scroll/potion/wand/staff/rod/other object yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite store/quest/event yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, that's not what that dungeon's supposed to look like! (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite game mechanic/UI feature yet? (specify below)
2
33%
Hey, that's a bug! Go fix that bug! (specify below)
1
17%
Hey, you didn't list what I want to see! (specify below)
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 6

Message
Author
madmonk
Reaper
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#91 Post by madmonk »

namad wrote:okay so i held down arrow into door, and the error just appears after a bunch of spammy failure messages. I'm aware this might be a typical issue in the real t2, but in the real t2 I just go to the wilderness first so I can't play as normal. This play style is just ... button mashing for testing purposes.


http://i.imgur.com/D1udM00.jpg


tried to attach file to post but "Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached."

so I used imgur
I've increased the attachment quota so you should be able to upload again to the server. :D
Regards

Jon.

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#92 Post by Zizzo »

namad wrote:okay so i held down arrow into door, and the error just appears after a bunch of spammy failure messages.
[sound F/X: source diving] ...Ohhhhh. That's the monster respawning kicking in, on a level that doesn't have a defined actor generator (and shouldn't be respawning new monsters anyway). Should be fixed in SVN.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#93 Post by Zizzo »

Okay, that last release really had too many show-stopper bugs in it, so I'm going to go head and push out a quickie bugfix release:

Release 0.0.8 "You Found It in the Remains of the Previous Version"

Notable bugs fixed in this release:
  • Proper creation of starting inventory (including the food rations and torches that were being created in code rather than from p_info.txt).
  • Block monster respawn on levels with no actor generator (typically this will be quest levels and special levels).
  • Some level-generation bugs, notably tunnel creation (trying to build a tunnel from two x-coordinates to two y-coordinates rarely does what you want... :oops: ).
  • Assorted fixes for "flavored" objects like potions and scrolls.
And a few actual new features:
  • Partial support for monster drops. No good/great/randart-item support yet.
  • Objects are now flagged with where they came from: dropped by a monster, found on the floor, bought from the store, started with it.
  • The read-scroll/quaff-potion/etc. actions are now consolidated into a single 'Use' command, a la T4. Not that there's much to use at the moment anyway...
  • Honor the 'Censor boot' engine setting.
  • Implement T2's "Pick things up by default" and "Prompt before picking things up" options, combined into a single Yes/No/Ask game option.
As always, the .team file for the release is available from my site, along with the Subversion repo and WebSVN front-end thereto.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

madmonk
Reaper
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#94 Post by madmonk »

Hey Zizzo

Got any more? more more more more... :mrgreen: :lol: 8)
Regards

Jon.

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#95 Post by Zizzo »

madmonk wrote:Got any more? more more more more... :mrgreen: :lol: 8)
Urk... I'm most of the way through a rough re-implementation of ego items (the existing ego infrastructure doesn't quite work for my purposes, so I pretty much had to start over from scratch). Was hoping to get that done before anyone asked, actually... :oops: Should be able to push something out before too long (famous last words...).

As long as I'm here, though, a quick question: As you may recall, for certain weapons that can be wielded one-handed or two-handed, like Katanas, the game prompts you when you try to wield them with a shield, since doing so would reduce your to-hit and damage. I figured I could handle that prompt in the "canWearObjectCustom" check in ActorInventory:canWearObject(), but that ran me into a problem I've encountered before: all the user-input methods I'm aware of return immediately and use some callback to handle user input. That won't work in this case; I need something that will wait for user input return it directly. Is there a trick for this?
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

darkgod
Master of Eyal
Posts: 10750
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Location: Angolwen
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#96 Post by darkgod »

Coroutines, you can check how items use & talents use in tome use them; it's rather hard to describe :/
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)

netzakh
Wayist
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:02 pm

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#97 Post by netzakh »

Revision 666 :twisted: Congratulations Zizzo!
East or West, ToME is best. - Netzakh

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#98 Post by Zizzo »

Zizzo wrote: Should be able to push something out before too long (famous last words...).
I knew I shouldn't have said that... :roll:
netzakh wrote:Revision 666 :twisted: Congratulations Zizzo!
And it turned out to be something entirely mundane and boring, too. I was most disappointed. :wink:
darkgod wrote:Coroutines, you can check how items use & talents use in tome use them; it's rather hard to describe :/
Urk. I think I looked into that at one point and couldn't make head or tail of it. I'm gonna punt that to the next release, then; this one has taken too long as it is:

Release 0.0.9 "The Sincerest Form of Flattery"

Notable changes in this release:
  • Partial implementation of object egos. More specifically, objects can now be generated terrible/cursed/average/good/excellent and with corresponding egos, and those egos add appropriate flags to the object, some of which are even implemented. :oops:
  • Lots of object-specific initializations that T2 does in-code.
  • As a side effect of the preceding, implement mimicry cloaks, morphic oils and Beornings' Bearform racial talent. [Further implementation of Mimicry talents will require deep black magic in the inventory stuff, so that waits til later.]
  • Improvements to object names and descriptions.
  • Fixes and improvements to stores. The Black Market, for instance, should now stock at least reasonably high-level stuff.
  • Fix leveling up, which was taking more exp than it should have.
  • Can no longer wield two-handed weapons with shields. :wink:
As always, the .team file for the release is available from my site, along with the Subversion repo and WebSVN front-end thereto.

[Edit 2014-03-13 3:10pm: Link fixed. We Apologize for the Inconvenience.™]
Last edited by Zizzo on Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zireael
Archmage
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#99 Post by Zireael »

Uh, Zizzo, the link leads to 0.0.8 not 0.0.9...

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#100 Post by Zizzo »

Zireael wrote:Uh, Zizzo, the link leads to 0.0.8 not 0.0.9...
[checks link] [sound F/X: forehead repeatedly striking desk] I knew it was too late at night to be doing heavy thinking like that. Link fixed. We Apologize for the Confusion.™
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

madmonk
Reaper
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#101 Post by madmonk »

Good news!

Thanks ever so for doing this!
Regards

Jon.

Zireael
Archmage
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#102 Post by Zireael »

Zizzo, I've had the game freeze up several times on level gen when I wanted to play... once on descending to barrowdowns, something about junkarts, and once even before Bree genned.

Also, trying to fix T-Engine's tunnel code since it's really buggy.. :/

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#103 Post by Zizzo »

Yeah, so, sorry for going incommunicado there for a while; was kind of in "deep-dev" mode. And it's been a while, so I think it's time for:

Release 0.0.10 "The Gods Must Be Lazy"

Notable bug fixes in this release:
  • So, at some point I changed how to-hit/to-dam bonuses are stored in equipment items, and didn't change all the code to reflect that change. Oops... :oops:
  • Similarly, not all of the code was of the same mind on where junkart data now lives... :oops: :oops:
  • *blink ...Okay, I'm not sure how some of that level-generation code was supposed to have worked. :oops: :oops: :oops:
  • Fix some screwups in creating starting equipment.
  • Trying to wield a stack of items (like torches) now properly unstacks one and wields it.
  • Fix stacking checks for weapons and armor (and incidentally probably rings and amulets too).
  • Non-artifact ammo now properly created a stack at a time rather then one at a time.
  • Bandit's dagger in the Thieves quest wasn't getting properly upgraded to {good}.
  • Assorted fixes in ego item generation.
And notable new features:
  • Implement large chunks of the gods/prayer/piety infrastructure. Praying is implemented as a sustained talent; most of the effects of praying should work, and most of the things that can increase or decrease your piety should also work.
  • Mostly implement T2's actor-can-enter-grid logic, mainly so that Yavanna prayer can confer tree-walking.
  • Implement brand/slay damage boosts for ego weapons.
  • New game options "ASCII tile size" and "Hit point warning threshold".
  • Implement T2-style hit point regeneration, restoring a percent of an actor's maximum life each turn, as modified by things like regeneration and resting.
  • Display sustained talents in the same area as temporary effects, and add descriptive tooltips to both.
  • Implement dropping part of a stack of objects, resting for a specified number of turns, and searching, including the "auto-search" mode, implemented as a sustained talent.
  • Implement some more temporary effects.
As always, the .team file for the release is available from my site, along with the Subversion repo and WebSVN front-end thereto.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zireael
Archmage
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#104 Post by Zireael »

I think there's either a superfluous line in load.lua or you missed a file when packaging.

It wants /mod/util.lua but there's no such file, so it chokes up.

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#105 Post by Zizzo »

Zireael wrote:I think there's either a superfluous line in load.lua or you missed a file when packaging.

It wants /mod/util.lua but there's no such file, so it chokes up.
[checks .team file] [sound F/X: forehead repeatedly striking desk] Uploaded a fixed version. We Apologize for the Inconvenience.™ :oops:
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Post Reply