[b41-1.0.5] Talent Point Planner
Moderator: Moderator
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Isn't the "is spellcaster" check something like "has_arcane_knowledge"?
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Hmmm...
If I'm reading Actor.lua correctly, it looks like :attr("has_arcane_knowledge") is only set when any is_spell talent is learned. The stuff I copied from wilderness/eyal.lua checks to see if the player has any magical resource bars (or is an undead), whether or not they've learned any spells -- that's the check used to tell whether Zigur is visible on the world map.
Not exactly equivalent, unfortunately.
If I'm reading Actor.lua correctly, it looks like :attr("has_arcane_knowledge") is only set when any is_spell talent is learned. The stuff I copied from wilderness/eyal.lua checks to see if the player has any magical resource bars (or is an undead), whether or not they've learned any spells -- that's the check used to tell whether Zigur is visible on the world map.
Not exactly equivalent, unfortunately.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Hmm... will need some tweaks, but should be doable. [sound F/X: coding] Okay, I've pushed out v7 of the addon with these changes. It's only partially tested (turns out I've done the Zigur quest but not the Myssil quest), so let me know if anything breaks.Noel wrote:Here's a quick patch that adds the Antimagic and Fungus trees (Zigur quest and Myssil-based Urkis quest) to the point planner.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Looks good, zizzo. Just took an AM berserker through the Myssil quest, to set it in has_seen, and new characters can see both the Antimagic and the Fungus options.
One unrelated weirdness, though. I'd set up the point planner early on, with 5 points in Vitality. During play, I got one level of Unflinching Resolve from an escort quest. When I tried to modify the plan after that, any time I tried to take a point out of any generic talent in any tree, I got a message telling me that it couldn't take the point out because I had Unflinching Resolve.
Not a big problem, though -- regenerating the point plan works around that issue.
Oh, and nice code comments!
One unrelated weirdness, though. I'd set up the point planner early on, with 5 points in Vitality. During play, I got one level of Unflinching Resolve from an escort quest. When I tried to modify the plan after that, any time I tried to take a point out of any generic talent in any tree, I got a message telling me that it couldn't take the point out because I had Unflinching Resolve.
Not a big problem, though -- regenerating the point plan works around that issue.
Oh, and nice code comments!

Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Can we add the tree you can buy in town? (not sure how much is considered spoily)
I always buy it and it would be nice to have in the plan at the beginning instead of walking over there with every new guy.
Edit: Also doesn't work for golem.
I always buy it and it would be nice to have in the plan at the beginning instead of walking over there with every new guy.
Edit: Also doesn't work for golem.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
I think I know the source you mean. I'll have to investigate the code; depending on where it's implemented, it could be tricky to write known() and done() methods for it.UbAh wrote:Can we add the tree you can buy in town? (not sure how much is considered spoily)
You mean using the planner to plan talent point usage for the Alchemist's golem? That... had never even occurred to me. I'd have to figure out where to store the plan info; if I stick it in the golem, it might get lost on a kill/rebuild cycle. I suppose it would also depend whether game.player actually refers to the golem while you're controlling it...UbAh wrote:Edit: Also doesn't work for golem.
Yikes, Not sure how to even test that one. I'll see what I can figure out.Noel wrote:One unrelated weirdness, though. I'd set up the point planner early on, with 5 points in Vitality. During play, I got one level of Unflinching Resolve from an escort quest. When I tried to modify the plan after that, any time I tried to take a point out of any generic talent in any tree, I got a message telling me that it couldn't take the point out because I had Unflinching Resolve.
Well, if people are going to be contributing, I figure I should explain what I'm actually trying to do in the code...Noel wrote:Oh, and nice code comments!

"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
- So the Alchemist's golem turned out not to be nearly as bad as I'd feared. The only real problem was that the golem code hijacks forceLevelup() to force the golem's level to track the player's level; all I had to was un-hijack it in the planner's scratch copy (and fix a few other minor things that assumed the planner's target was the player) and it works like a charm. The golem even gets its own vault plan file, so that both your new Alchemist and her golem can restore their respective predecssors' plans from the vault.
- The town-buyable tree was somewhat trickier, but with some deep wizardry (read: fly-by meatball surgery on chat data
), I was able to insert seen/done flag setters in the right places in the store chats for it to work. [Note that because of the preceding, if your character has already visited the town in question before installing the new addon version, the addon won't be able to detect that that character has seen or bought the tree, because it's too late to modify the chats. We Apologize for the Inconvenience.(TM)]
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Nice to see the golem, and other changes.
One more request, can we add the talent trees you can get from the corrupted summoning prodigy? I would like to see how many points I should save for a corrupted golem. Also it may be useful to also allow the quest rewards you can give to your golem to show up.
One more request, can we add the talent trees you can get from the corrupted summoning prodigy? I would like to see how many points I should save for a corrupted golem. Also it may be useful to also allow the quest rewards you can give to your golem to show up.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
So buying the prodigy with the player gives the golem more talent trees? Yeah, that'll need to be a separate golem-only talent source definition... [sound F/X: source diving] You mean Blighted Summoning? Okay, the prodigy description spells out what the bonuses are, so known() can assume the player already knows about it, and done() can check for the prodigy having been learned in the alchemist... yeah, that shouldn't be too hard.UbAh wrote:One more request, can we add the talent trees you can get from the corrupted summoning prodigy? I would like to see how many points I should save for a corrupted golem.
Fair point. Are all escort quest reward talent trees transferable to the golem?UbAh wrote:Also it may be useful to also allow the quest rewards you can give to your golem to show up.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2000
- Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 8:26 pm
- Location: Nahgharash
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Yes, technically, but since they are all generic trees, and locked, it's far more common to transfer skills, rather then using the wyrm bile for a cat point and the potion/edible thing/arena reward for generics on the golem... But it's quite frequent to give healing light or something similar to the golem. Far a I know, any talent tree an alchemist can get as an escort reward can be given to the golem. Giving AM trees would be a lot harder, and probably not possible with standard alchemist, though adventurer MIGHT be able to manage it. Someone would have to confirm there.
Edit: Actually he may have meant allowing the quest reward themselves, like the arena, or alchemist potions, to show up for your golem planner. In which case, again, I believe they can all be given. Can the yeek bonus be gifted? (Dunno why you'd want to...)
Edit: Actually he may have meant allowing the quest reward themselves, like the arena, or alchemist potions, to show up for your golem planner. In which case, again, I believe they can all be given. Can the yeek bonus be gifted? (Dunno why you'd want to...)
Currently playing under the name Aura of the Dawn 4 down, 227 to go!
Proud author of Orc Pit Restoration Project, Faction Allies, Dwarven Adventurer addons
Proud author of Orc Pit Restoration Project, Faction Allies, Dwarven Adventurer addons
SadistSquirrel wrote:DarkGod has two arms, one with an opened hand, one with a closed fist. You got the fist.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
...So is that a "yes" or a "no" on including escort quest talent trees in the golem's planner?Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:Yes, technically, but since they are all generic trees, and locked, it's far more common to transfer skills, rather then using the wyrm bile for a cat point and the potion/edible thing/arena reward for generics on the golem...
Hmm, as I understand it, individual talents received from escort quests can't be trained up further using talent points (unless you already have the tree), yes? If so, no need to reflect those in the planner.Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:But it's quite frequent to give healing light or something similar to the golem.
The golem can drink alchemst potions? Weird... Judging from the above, though, the arena reward and one of the alchemist potions would be useless to the golem, barring massive gymnastics.Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:Edit: Actually he may have meant allowing the quest reward themselves, like the arena, or alchemist potions, to show up for your golem planner. In which case, again, I believe they can all be given.
[sound F/X: source diving] Apparently so, but the planner doesn't implement that one yet anyway.Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:Can the yeek bonus be gifted? (Dunno why you'd want to...)
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2000
- Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 8:26 pm
- Location: Nahgharash
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Well yes, you CAN give potions and all other 'consumable' items, which means that with the wyrm bile for a cat point, and the heart/arena reward/potion of foundations, one can net a total of 5 generic points for your golem, and a cat point to unlock a tree from an escort. Theoretically, it can be done (and I've heard interesting things about some bizarre builds to make the golem more useful late-game...) so I vote on including the capability to reflect it. As for the potions, I thought the point planner could reflect stat points? And the bonus from the potion of focus too. (Far more feasible then the others to give the golem.) And that is reflected in the point planner, is it not? Granted, I don't use it much, I tend to wing my builds by ear. (Fly on a wing and a prayer and you can never fail! Experience proves this!)
Currently playing under the name Aura of the Dawn 4 down, 227 to go!
Proud author of Orc Pit Restoration Project, Faction Allies, Dwarven Adventurer addons
Proud author of Orc Pit Restoration Project, Faction Allies, Dwarven Adventurer addons
SadistSquirrel wrote:DarkGod has two arms, one with an opened hand, one with a closed fist. You got the fist.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Hmm... okay, but I think I'm going to try to figure out a way to add a "you probably don't want to select this unless you know exactly what you're doing" note to those.Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:Well yes, you CAN give potions and all other 'consumable' items, which means that with the wyrm bile for a cat point, and the heart/arena reward/potion of foundations, one can net a total of 5 generic points for your golem, and a cat point to unlock a tree from an escort. Theoretically, it can be done (and I've heard interesting things about some bizarre builds to make the golem more useful late-game...) so I vote on including the capability to reflect it.
Well, yeah, but that starts getting into a lot of escort quest rewards. I hadn't been listing those to date, because usually the player already has more than enough stat points to push your stats high enough to get all the talents you want. I suppose that would be more important for the golem, who doesn't get many stat points...Crim, The Red Thunder wrote:As for the potions, I thought the point planner could reflect stat points? And the bonus from the potion of focus too. (Far more feasible then the others to give the golem.) And that is reflected in the point planner, is it not?
...Oh, wait, you just meant the alchemist potions that boost stats, didn't you?

"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2512
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
Okay, I think I've got this all sorted out:
- The Elixir of Mastery is now supported, in addition to the other two alchemist potions.
- The golem's planner currently includes the Arena, the Heart, all three alchemist potions, Blighted Summoning, and all the escort quest trees. Everything that gives generic trees or generic points is marked in yellow in the golem's planner, with an explanatory tooltip.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
Re: [b41-1.0.0] Talent Point Planner
So I am having some issues with this mod and I was told to post them here. Hope this is the right place. I did want to say I bloody LOVE this mod and I really hope that there is something that can be done about the issues I am having
I use this mod and both of the donator mods. That's it. With just the two donator mods, I have do not have these issues. With this mod and not the donator mods, I still have the issues. So I think it has to be this mod. My computer is a beast of a machine, so I don't think it's an issue of not enough RAM (8 gigs) or something like that. All my drivers for everything are up to date (I checked, wanted to make sure it wasn't something obvious). And I use the standard graphical Shockbolt setting, if that matters.
There are two issues I am having that seem unrelated (at least, I've never had both at once). Neither result in a actual crash to desktop nor do they seem to show anything wrong in the log. Both are temporarily solved by saving/exiting my game, exiting the TE4 engine, and then starting it again and reloading the save.
The first issue is that the game slows down, dramatically. It starts small...there is a small lag when resting when you have a large amount of health or equilibrium/mana/what-have-you to regenerate, that sort of thing. But eventually, if I leave it alone the game will continue to slow. Soon character movement and actions take 10-15 seconds per turn, even when only my character (no npcs or monsters) are visible on the screen. This is especially noticeable when trying to move large distances or using the auto-explore feature. Finally it gets to the point where inputs have a 30 second to 1 minute lag, and at this point, not only is the game unplayable, but the escape menu is usually not reachable (I press escape, nothing happens). At this point, it's no longer possible to save and I must ctl-alt-del and force close the application.
The second issue revolves around changing levels inside a dungeon. I have never had this happen when entering a dungeon from the world map, but I have had it happen when exiting a dungeon onto the world map. During the transition between maps, when the screen is generally black with a loading bar, the screen instead turns white, still with the loading bar. At this point, I can still save/exit, restart TE4, and go on with things. If, however, I change maps again, the white background will again show up and from this point on, trying to save will not work. I press the save or the save/exit button and nothing happens. The white background actually produces no noticeable affect on game play while I stay withing the dungeon. I can switch between levels of the dungeon fine, everything loads properly (items, monsters, etc), and it seems like there is nothing wrong (except for the inability to save). However, when I go to leave the dungeon, after the white background and loading bar go away, I find that I am still in the dungeon, only my character has disappeared and all controls are locked. I can't do anything (not even bring up the escape menu). If I have received the white background load screen for the first time upon exiting a dungeon to the world, I can move about the world map normally (and other groups, like adventurer parties move around normally as well), but trying to load into any dungeon or town will cause me to instead load back onto the world map, without my character (and without any other groups of npcs that might have been in the vicinity) and with all controls locked out, like if I tried to move from inside a dungeon to the world map. I will also not be able to access the menu at this time.
Neither of these issues are causing undo issues. They don't crash my game and because I now know what happens if I don't save/quit and reload right away, I am not losing game time to them. However, they are extremely frustrating and annoying and happen at least once and hour, maybe more often. So if there is anything that can be done about it, I would greatly appreciate it. If not, I totally understand. The lack of any sort of log of what's actually occurring would make it difficult to track down what's going wrong, I am sure.
Thanks for taking the time to read my gigantic post. And thanks again for the super useful mod.
I use this mod and both of the donator mods. That's it. With just the two donator mods, I have do not have these issues. With this mod and not the donator mods, I still have the issues. So I think it has to be this mod. My computer is a beast of a machine, so I don't think it's an issue of not enough RAM (8 gigs) or something like that. All my drivers for everything are up to date (I checked, wanted to make sure it wasn't something obvious). And I use the standard graphical Shockbolt setting, if that matters.
There are two issues I am having that seem unrelated (at least, I've never had both at once). Neither result in a actual crash to desktop nor do they seem to show anything wrong in the log. Both are temporarily solved by saving/exiting my game, exiting the TE4 engine, and then starting it again and reloading the save.
The first issue is that the game slows down, dramatically. It starts small...there is a small lag when resting when you have a large amount of health or equilibrium/mana/what-have-you to regenerate, that sort of thing. But eventually, if I leave it alone the game will continue to slow. Soon character movement and actions take 10-15 seconds per turn, even when only my character (no npcs or monsters) are visible on the screen. This is especially noticeable when trying to move large distances or using the auto-explore feature. Finally it gets to the point where inputs have a 30 second to 1 minute lag, and at this point, not only is the game unplayable, but the escape menu is usually not reachable (I press escape, nothing happens). At this point, it's no longer possible to save and I must ctl-alt-del and force close the application.
The second issue revolves around changing levels inside a dungeon. I have never had this happen when entering a dungeon from the world map, but I have had it happen when exiting a dungeon onto the world map. During the transition between maps, when the screen is generally black with a loading bar, the screen instead turns white, still with the loading bar. At this point, I can still save/exit, restart TE4, and go on with things. If, however, I change maps again, the white background will again show up and from this point on, trying to save will not work. I press the save or the save/exit button and nothing happens. The white background actually produces no noticeable affect on game play while I stay withing the dungeon. I can switch between levels of the dungeon fine, everything loads properly (items, monsters, etc), and it seems like there is nothing wrong (except for the inability to save). However, when I go to leave the dungeon, after the white background and loading bar go away, I find that I am still in the dungeon, only my character has disappeared and all controls are locked. I can't do anything (not even bring up the escape menu). If I have received the white background load screen for the first time upon exiting a dungeon to the world, I can move about the world map normally (and other groups, like adventurer parties move around normally as well), but trying to load into any dungeon or town will cause me to instead load back onto the world map, without my character (and without any other groups of npcs that might have been in the vicinity) and with all controls locked out, like if I tried to move from inside a dungeon to the world map. I will also not be able to access the menu at this time.
Neither of these issues are causing undo issues. They don't crash my game and because I now know what happens if I don't save/quit and reload right away, I am not losing game time to them. However, they are extremely frustrating and annoying and happen at least once and hour, maybe more often. So if there is anything that can be done about it, I would greatly appreciate it. If not, I totally understand. The lack of any sort of log of what's actually occurring would make it difficult to track down what's going wrong, I am sure.
Thanks for taking the time to read my gigantic post. And thanks again for the super useful mod.