ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal
http://forums.te4.org/

Improved Auto-Explore and Rest
http://forums.te4.org/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=44401
Page 7 of 8

Author:  Dracos [ Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Unsure if it's another mod. Couldn't see any connection and removed the mod entirely for a test game. Still was getting elemental surges with almost no cooldown whatsoever.

If I'm mistaken, please direct me, but I can't see anywhere in code that elemental surge is even involved. The effect happens with no resting or auto-exploring going on, which leaves really little surface area. Attached is some snapshots of a test player (which does still have a few mods on) that doesn't have autorest, and did trigger 2 elemental surges at the same time (which shouldn't be possible?).

Whether it is two different at the same time, or repeating the same one over and over, it seems trivially doable at the moment without the mod.

Attachments:
Annotation 2019-11-16 151004-2.png
Annotation 2019-11-16 151004-2.png [ 88.83 KiB | Viewed 910 times ]
Annotation 2019-11-16 151004.png
Annotation 2019-11-16 151004.png [ 46.31 KiB | Viewed 910 times ]

Author:  Dracos [ Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Okay, updated. That should be fixed. Paradox mage should be fixed.

First Seen / Reset on Rest - removed as unsupported for now.

requests/issues I'm aware of:

Would be great if there was an option to disable the message you get every time you want to rest/autoexplore when you have another member in your party.


Sadly, I've found that it conflicts with another addon that I've just started using for my AM rolls. When this addon is enabled, the functionality of the "Rest to a limited mana percentage" addon (link: https://te4.org/games/addons/tome/partial-rest ) sadly doesn't work.
Is there any way to make the two compatible?

Anything else, I probably don't know or remember. Poke me.

Author:  Elkan [ Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

I love this addon, and always try to have it running whenever compatible but I keep running to issues which I think I have narrowed down to this addon. namely that after some combination of circumstances resting with automatic talent usage on will never end unless the player intervenes or a hostile shows up. ( I haven't been able to isolate exactly what, but may be tome crashing or having to be force closed) This has happened to most of the characters I have gotten past tier 2 with and the addon running but hasn't seemed to have to appeared before the shertul fortress. I stopped using it the addon due to the issues but following the latest I installed it again for use with my next new character and as soon as I reloaded my current character the issue appeared.

Author:  Dracos [ Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

There was a change there in the most recent update. is this before there?

Got a save? And/or:
Character/race/abilities that may seem to go bad?

May look, glad you enjoy. Not much to go on though :)

Author:  Elkan [ Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

I experienced the issue with the old version ; number 29 on several characters and I have at least one save I can easily send or upload. Is there somewhere you would prefer it?
I believe had the addon disabled with the character I was most recently playing, I installed the updated version (30), and deleted the old one the next time I restarted tome and loaded the character it was re-enabled and the issue presented immediately.

Author:  Deathgow [ Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

is this addon save game compatible or do i have to restart ?

Author:  nsrr [ Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Addons will never apply to a game you started without the addon.

Author:  Dracos [ Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Pretty sure you can save edit to add/remove addons? Been a while since I did so, but remember it just being a list at top of save. Would expect this to work cleanly in a fashion.

Elkan:
Think an attachment of the zipped save here would be fine? Is this reproducible on a fresh character? Surprised at something like that being broad, since usually it's a specific talent/class combo (since broad issues tend to be fairly obvious when I play myself). Is there anything specific you're doing with automatic talents? I tend to just use 'On enemy' and 'On adjacent enemy' myself, so maybe it's one I never use?

Author:  Elkan [ Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Mainly just shield runes on enemy visible, track when out of combat, for anorithils shield of light when out of combat enemies visible I've had it happen by the item vault in a new orcs campaign character in 1.6.1.
Tired attaching the file here but the filesize limit is 256 KiB.

Author:  Elkan [ Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Okay I have managed to cause this to happen with the addon completely uninstalled, so its definitely not your mod after all and I apologise for any concern caused.

Author:  Dracos [ Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

No worries, we all want a stable game and I'm glad you enjoy my mod enough to raise concerns.

It's weird to hear. I basically do 'shield on visible' all the time.

Author:  FuzzyCuddlyBunny [ Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Technomancer's Metaphasic Spin will disable upon reaching 0 steam with improved auto-explore and rest active. Problem seems to be in Actor.lua's superload of _M.act force using steam sustains at <1 steam.

Author:  Dracos [ Wed Jan 01, 2020 5:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Fixed in a short bit (looking over any remaining things). Sustains (to my memory) changed behavior in 1.6. They used to all shut off if you have 0 of the resource (I remember that going on when I'd get premonition and be drained down to zero.) Doesn't seem to happen that way these days so:

• Changed steam sustain behavior to match current gameplay. Before sustains tended to shut off when available resource was 0, now they don't seem to do so. This will now only turn off sustains that drain steam if steam is going below 0, so as to get to a steady finish state.

Author:  Dracos [ Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Update out. All requests and bugs I am aware of our dealt with. Now I shall vanish like the leviathan beneath the waves...

Well unless folks yammer that something else is wrong.

Author:  Dracos [ Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Improved Auto-Explore and Rest

Hey folks, now that 1.7...and quickly 1.7.1 and 1.7.2 are out, I logged back on to check how things are going.

Much to my great relief, there doesn't seem to be any devastating breaks with this mod. I've added some instruction updates as well as a bypass for folks that use track, but otherwise the update is a no-op just confirming that things are good on 1.7.

Lemme know if there are issues I don't know :)

Page 7 of 8 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/