ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 220 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:33 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul Godslayer

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:46 pm
Posts: 2402
Location: Ambush!
Works now. Thanks!

_________________
Check out my addons: Nullpack (classes), Null Tweaks (items & talents), and New Gems fork.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:45 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:03 pm
Posts: 892
Is there any way to disable automatically going to creatures when you highlight their name in the lower left corner? It's useful, but really annoying if you're trying to select something in that corner.

_________________
I'm not crying. I'm offering a sacrifice to DarkGod in hopes he'll show favor to me.

It hasn't worked yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 3:49 am 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:56 am
Posts: 645
Red wrote:
Is there any way to disable automatically going to creatures when you highlight their name in the lower left corner? It's useful, but really annoying if you're trying to select something in that corner.


Not currently. I've returned to playing some, but I'm not doing any coding right now except for keeping up with version updates.

_________________
My addons: UI Mod, Auto-explore & Rest Tweaks, Dev Tools,
Bosses Gone AWOL??!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:12 am 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:03 pm
Posts: 892
Melancholy face.

Thanks for keeping it updated, though. The one other thing to note is that, if you accidentally delete the Rod of Recall hotkey, it does not appear on the talent menu to be reassigned. When you go back to serious coding, that fix would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
I'm not crying. I'm offering a sacrifice to DarkGod in hopes he'll show favor to me.

It hasn't worked yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:23 am 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:56 am
Posts: 645
Thanks for mentioning it. I'll take a look.

_________________
My addons: UI Mod, Auto-explore & Rest Tweaks, Dev Tools,
Bosses Gone AWOL??!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:33 am
Posts: 4
Hi Marson, 777isHARDCORE here. I was the one having issues using your UI mod and the Talent Point Planner mod at the same time.

Here is the error from te4_log.txt after the game hangs at the loading screen when starting a New Game with only those two mods enabled:

Lua Error: /mod/dialogs/LevelupDialog.lua:23: attempt to index global 'game' (a boolean value)
At [C]:-1 __index
At /mod/dialogs/LevelupDialog.lua:23 base
At /loader/init.lua:157 loadPrevious
At ...ons/pointplanner/superload/mod/dialogs/LevelupDialog.lua:21
At [C]:-1 require
At /mod/dialogs/PointPlanDialog.lua:28
At [C]:-1 require
At /mod/addons/pointplanner/superload/mod/class/Player.lua:22
At [C]:-1 require
At /mod/class/Game.lua:46 base
At /loader/init.lua:157 loadPrevious
At /mod/addons/pointplanner/superload/mod/class/Game.lua:21
At [C]:-1 require
At /mod/load.lua:322
At [C]:-1 require
At /engine/Module.lua:158 load
At /engine/Module.lua:921 instanciate
At /engine/utils.lua:2235 showMainMenu
At /engine/init.lua:156
At [C]:-1 dofile
At /loader/init.lua:196

Also note that I don't have the DLC yet, if that helps.

If you need any more info, or more of the log file, just let me know what you need. I will subscribe to this thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:33 am
Posts: 4
So, I tried subscribing to the ZOmnibus Addon Pack, like you suggested, and it worked.

It worked just your UI mod and the ZOmnibus, and it also worked with various other mods I would typically want included in addition to those two.

So what's up with that?? :)

I guess something with Z's stand alone file?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:01 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:56 am
Posts: 645
777 wrote:
I guess something with Z's stand alone file?


It looks that way. I use game.x to calculate the max font size that will fit on the page, and "game" should exist as more than just a boolean at that point. I took a cursory look through comparing the point planner files with the omnibus ones, but don't see why this might be happening with the stand-alone point planner.

-------

Update:

+ The sound for damage shields collapsing will no longer play if resting, exploring, or for Stone Half's "Stone Link".

_________________
My addons: UI Mod, Auto-explore & Rest Tweaks, Dev Tools,
Bosses Gone AWOL??!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2014 8:06 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul Godslayer

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:46 pm
Posts: 2402
Location: Ambush!
Marson wrote:
+ The sound for damage shields collapsing will no longer play if resting, exploring, or for Stone Half's "Stone Link".
Yay!

Seriously that was the worst part about being a Sun Paladin.

_________________
Check out my addons: Nullpack (classes), Null Tweaks (items & talents), and New Gems fork.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:57 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul Godslayer

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:46 pm
Posts: 2402
Location: Ambush!
I'm kicking around the new *spoiler* race in 1.3, and it seems like their first racial talent is incompatible with this addon.

_________________
Check out my addons: Nullpack (classes), Null Tweaks (items & talents), and New Gems fork.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:37 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:56 am
Posts: 645
Thanks for the heads-up. I haven't touched 1.3 compatibility yet. I'm not actively developing right now so the plan is to wait until release and just update once.

_________________
My addons: UI Mod, Auto-explore & Rest Tweaks, Dev Tools,
Bosses Gone AWOL??!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:22 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 717
There is a lot of 1.3 compatibility issues, unfortunately...
Marson, would you need help with converting your addon to use a bit more superloads? It's rather unfortunate when you change one function in Map.lua and it conflicts with plethora of 1.3 changes just because you overloaded the file.
Also, it would be nice to see texture caching used for NPC list. Having text re-rendered 30 times per second or more really hurts some computers.

PS: how would you look at incorporating some of your changes into vanilla? Which ones would you prioritize for that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:23 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:56 am
Posts: 645
The main reason I've stuck with overload rather than superload is to make updates easier. Right now I can use kdiff3 to do a merge between the old version of ToME, the new version of ToME, and the old version of my addon, which then gives me the new addon file. If I used superload, I would have to do a lot of manual comparisons and edits. I code when my interest overrides my mental fatigue. The sheer boredom of that kind of update would mean I would put it off for a long, long time once a new version of ToME came out (if I ever even got around to doing it). That's actually the same issue with merging into vanilla. Pulling out and testing individual components isn't interesting enough to drive me to do it, as much as I would like to see it done. I've tried to mitigate the overload issue at least a little bit by loading it really early, but even so I know it causes problems. It gets tricky because I modify a lot of interior code. Even with superload, I would have to use it to overload large code chunks. It wouldn't have to be the whole file in all cases, but it still wouldn't be pretty.

Thanks for mentioning the cache issue. I knew that the NPC list was causing a slowdown, but hadn't looked into fixing it yet. I put so many hours into ToME over two-thirds of 2014 that I burnt out a bit. If I were actively playing then that would help drive my coding, but it's hard to keep the interest up when not playing the game.

As far as priorities go, I guess that depends on what the userbase thinks. For me personally, due to my eyesight, #1 would be the larger font size capabilities. After a certain point, they require changes to how dialog borders and such are calculated in order to accommodate the larger font. I know what I did was a bit of a hack so darkgod would probably want some major changes to it before any of it went in to vanilla.

I personally like my revamp of the hotkey bar and the 'use talent' screen, but that may be personal taste. The ambient background sound toggle is really simple. I'm not sure if I used the best approach, but the ability to preview talents on the character creation screen isn't all that complex.

_________________
My addons: UI Mod, Auto-explore & Rest Tweaks, Dev Tools,
Bosses Gone AWOL??!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:32 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 717
The simplest approach, I guess, would be to keep a game.turn number of last render handy and don't re-render the display if the game.turn hasn't changed since last render, or if the game isn't paused. Clearly, the display is pretty much only valuable on player's turn, and needs to be rendered once per player's turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:37 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:27 pm
Posts: 50
I know 1.3 was just released, so that probably has something to do with it.

This addon no longer lets me start a new game. I've tried disabling(and enabling) all of my addons except for this one. What happens is the progress bar hits 100% and it just sits there. The box with a random tip just above the progress bar does some light flickering, as well does the random trivia facts in the top right.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 220 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group