ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:20 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:53 am
Posts: 14
Hi all! I decided to come back to ToME after a while - probably been a year or two since last I played. I've been experiencing a problem though - the game persistently hangs for long periods of time, nearly randomly. It seems to be triggered by all kinds of things - hovering over an enemy, hovering over a talent, clicking to move to a location, the works. The hangs last a solid 5-10 seconds each time, rendering the game virtually unplayable (not that that stopped me from getting a character all the way into Dreadfell :) ). I've tried running the game with all connectivity turned off, since the effect feels similar to when lagging badly in a game - when it locks up for several seconds, then the animations play super fast when it loads back in - but that had no effect.

My best guess is that I have something left from an old install that's causing the game to hang badly - I did download the game again from the site to start over and that hasn't stopped it. If this is the case, I have no idea where the old files that are causing all the slowdown are. When the game runs, it runs fine, but the constant locking up makes it a very poor experience, and that makes me sad. Any help would be appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:26 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 6069
Start/load a game.
Make it lag out.
Post the log file.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:43 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:53 am
Posts: 14
It lagged for several seconds right before I exited, I don't believe I took any other actions.

Log is 467 kb so I'm putting it on Pastebin: https://pastebin.com/S3ZU5pCy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:41 pm 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:01 am
Posts: 11
I have the same problem aswell playing possessor. I saw also a lot of Lua errors with summoners.

Atm the game is barely playable and you must save every 150 turns or so


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:52 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 6069
Possessor has some large memory leak issues. I'm not aware of any issues with summoners.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:02 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:53 am
Posts: 14
I tried switching to the Steam client to see if it helped, and it felt like it was less horribly laggy for a short while but then took back off.

https://pastebin.com/7fGJqDt8 is another log, which I find interesting in the last few lines. After killing the yellow jelly enemy, I clicked to move a tile and the game locked up for several seconds before moving and picking up the pouch of steel shots of erosion (lines 6448-6452) - but there's nothing in the log there.

I could really use some help, the game's practically unplayable as-is and I'd really like to dive back into ToME.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 3:06 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 6069
Try monitoring ram and disk usage while playing.

Another possibility, but I haven't heard of this one for a while, is your antivirus freezing things to scan something.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:49 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:53 am
Posts: 14
HousePet wrote:
Try monitoring ram and disk usage while playing.

Another possibility, but I haven't heard of this one for a while, is your antivirus freezing things to scan something.

Ram and disk usage are steady while playing.

If it's my antivirus, it's not showing up, and I'm still running the same one that I have been since I was last playing the game with no issues. Do you know how I would go about detecting it if it is in fact the antivirus freezing it all up? No other game or program is experiencing this either, it's just ToME :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:34 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 6069
You should be able to tell the antivirus to turn off for a while. If you don't get any freezes with it off, then you know its the antivirus.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:33 pm 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:53 am
Posts: 14
HousePet wrote:
You should be able to tell the antivirus to turn off for a while. If you don't get any freezes with it off, then you know its the antivirus.

Yeah, that had no effect either :( Really just bewildered on this one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group