ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:13 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
I have a character stuck because I tried playing them once without the mods downloaded that I started playing them with. Now everytime they move or attempt some other action dozens of error reports flood the screen in several bunches. Even though I'm playing through steam with all the proper mods available now, the character still has this problem.

Is it possible to turn off the notifications for error reporting? Just for this character at least.

I've tried turning off all the mods and restarting the game. Restarting in debug mode. Nothing seems to work.

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:01 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
You can't just turn off error messages or addons. (Turning off addons and then loading a character that uses them doesn't not load those addons.)

If you post up some of the error messages, I might be able to suggest a lua console command to stop them happening.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:03 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
Lua error: /mod/class/Actor.lua:603: attempt to index local 't' (a nil value)
At [C]:-1__index
At mod class actor lua 603 act
at mod class NPC lua 68 act
at engine gameenergybased lua 129 tick level
at engine gameenergybased lua 64 tick
at engine gameturnbased lua 51 tick
at mod class game lua 1489

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:56 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
But that code is checking that you still have the resources to have a sustained talent active.
Did you remove an addon that included a sustained talent you were using?

Disable all active talents and write into the lua console:
Code:
game.player.sustain_talents = {}

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:14 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
None of my addons have anything to do with sustains AFAIK. The character is an archer and none of the addons alter the race or class or talents, except for making exotic weapons general skill available for all characters.

I couldn't get steam working for months so I started playing Tome without steam, that's when the bugs started for that character. Now I have steam working again but it didn't fix the issues I created by trying to play that character without steam.

How Do I open the lua console?

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 12:15 pm 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
If you didn't have all the addons installed when you loaded the save in the non-steam version of the game, it would have just ignored the missing addons and removed them from the required addons list once it saved again. So it won't start using them again once you load them via the Steam version.

The lua console is ctrl+L for me, but it should be in the key bindings.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:30 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
.

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Last edited by Coldbringer on Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:39 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 531
you need to enable dev mode first

_________________
I write guides and make addons too now, apparently

You can go here for a compilation of everything I wrote, plus some other important stuff!

Includes general guides (inscriptions, zone, prodigies), and class guides (Demo, Anorithil, Bulwark, Zerker, Sblade)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:04 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
Okay I enabled dev mode, opened the lua console, typed in the exact command you wrote and hit enter, nothing happened

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:16 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
new error that is coming up

Lua error: /engine/interface/ActorTemporaryEffects.lua:83: attempt to index local 'def' (a nil value)
at [C]:-1__index
at /engine/interface/actortemporaryeffects.lua.83 timedEffects
at /mod/class/NPC.lua:325 timedEffects
at /mod/class/Actor.lua:576 actBase
at /engine/GameEnergyBased.lua:119 ticklevel
at /engine/gameenergybased.lua:64 tick
at /engine/gameturnbased.lua:51 tick
at /mod/class/game.lua:1489

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:58 pm 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
Maybe there should be some more checks in the code for this...

Similar issue.
Disable all timed effects.
Write this into the lua console:
Code:
game.player.tmp = {}


You won't see anything happen when you put these commands in.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:26 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
okay I disabled all timed effects and typed that line into the lua menu and hit enter.

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:02 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
And did it remove the error?
Are there any more?

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:27 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 10:08 pm
Posts: 407
the first command you had me put in reduced the error pop ups by about half. So it's down from like 40 to 20 now every time I take a turns worth of any action.

The second command I entered into the lua console didn't seem to have any effect at all. No new errors, but the same old ones. Seems to be only 2 separate errors repeated multiple times.

_________________
"You could skip it, i think it drops 0 xp and 1 copper [at most], you are better off selling oxygen to beggars to become rich."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:40 pm 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5965
Hrm, I'd assumed that error was coming from your actor, but it might not be.
Kill everyone else? (Or just change area?)

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group