ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 10:38 pm 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:25 pm
Posts: 13
I have the GOG version of ToME with the Ashes DLC installed. The UI theme I have been using (which I love) for a long time is this one:

Image

Yesterday I bought the Embers of Rage DLC from GOG and installed it and it changed my UI theme in all my save games to the Dark UI which I don't like. I tried to set the UI Theme back to the one in the image above but it doesn't exist. The closest one is the Metal UI theme but it looks terrible in comparison.

My only Interface options are:

Dark
Metal
Stone
Simple

In addition, the main game menu is the dark UI and no matter what I do it doesn't change.

Is this all some kind of weird UI bug? How do I get the UI theme in the image above back?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 10:47 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 505
That's the steam theme.
Maybe you disabled the steamtech UI addon by accident ?

_________________
I write guides and make addons too now, apparently

You can go here for a compilation of everything I wrote, plus some other important stuff!

Includes general guides (inscriptions, zone, prodigies), and class guides (Demo, Anorithil, Bulwark, Zerker, Sblade)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:07 pm 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:25 pm
Posts: 13
Cathbald wrote:
That's the steam theme.
Maybe you disabled the steamtech UI addon by accident ?


I haven't disabled anything and all the addons listed in the menu are listed as enabled. I started a new game and in the new game I can select Steamtech as the theme and that works. However, When I then load another save for another character the UI theme there has been reset back to the Dark UI. When I open the game options and look at the interface setting, it says "Steam" as it should but it still shows the Dark UI instead of the Steam UI. When I click on it to change it, I only get the UI choices I listed above and Steamtech is not even listed as a choice, even though is is showing "Steam" as the currently selected UI. It seems like some kind of weird bug and I don't know how to reset it to get my Steam UI to show again as it did yesterday before the DLC install.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:10 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 801
Location: Middle of Nowhere
Maybe Steamtech isn't showing because it thinks it's the one you have set already? Did you try switching to something else and then checking the options again to see if steam shows up?

Wired bug either way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:54 pm 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:25 pm
Posts: 13
nsrr wrote:
Did you try switching to something else and then checking the options again to see if steam shows up?


Yes, I tried switching to metal, stone and simple and no matter what, SteamTech did not show up as an option.

That said, I was just now able to fix the problem by editing the save directory desc.lua for that character and adding "orcs" to the addons line in the file:

module = "tome"
module_version = {1,5,10}
addons = {'ashes-urhrok', 'possessors', 'items-vault', 'orcs', 'orcpitsrestoration'}

So, if anyone else ever has this problem, that's the solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:34 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:25 pm
Posts: 13
Well I spoke too soon. Although my savefile loads up fine and my UI is now Steam and it also shows an an option in the interface selection now, as soon as I take one step I get a recursive lua error (screen flashes the same error over and over 100 times a second) forcing me to kill the game process. I did manage a screenshot of the error and here it is. Does anyone know how to fix this or what's wrong?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:16 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5940
Do not hack a character file to add in a DLC and expect things to be fine.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:46 am 
Offline
Yeek

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:25 pm
Posts: 13
HousePet wrote:
Do not hack a character file to add in a DLC and expect things to be fine.

I own the orcs DLC and the desc.lua file for my new character has the "orcs" entry in there and everything works fine. That's why I edited my other character's file to match it. There's no reason it shouldn't work too but it doesn't.

At this point I wonder if I should uninstall the whole game and DLC and reinstall it all to see if that fixes it. Do you lose all your profiles and save games if you do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:08 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5940
I can think of many reasons why adding a DLC to a character file that wasn't created with it active shouldn't work. Most of them involve game breaking bugs.

Uninstalling and reinstalling shouldn't delete profile and saves, however you might want to start with fresh saves regardless.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group