ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal
http://forums.te4.org/

Multiline console commands?
http://forums.te4.org/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=45235
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Nagyhal [ Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Multiline console commands?

Is it possible to input multi-line console commands in the Lua console? e.g.:

Code:
for i=1, 5 do
  game.log("Hello Eyal!)
end

I always heard from other people that you could, but it never worked for me. And I always had the feeling it was a Windows / Linux thing (I'm on Windows.)

I know you can still create nice complex loop structures (EDIT: on just one line) using the semicolon syntax, but they are rather hard to work with compared to a nicely tabbed multi line format.

Well, thanks for any help you can offer. Even if this is a simple question with a simple answer (most likely "no" :mrgreen: ), I couldn't find any reference to it in the forums so this will help anybody out there looking to know in future. Cheers!

Author:  Effigy [ Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiline console commands?

Have you tried putting all the commands on one line? Not sure if it works, but it's something to try.

Author:  Nagyhal [ Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiline console commands?

Yep! 8)

Author:  Stuntofthelitter [ Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiline console commands?

I don't know how to actually input them directly, but you CAN copy and paste the block in.

Author:  Nagyhal [ Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiline console commands?

Yep, this is something I do all the time, now - writing long sequences of commands in Sublime and then pasting them into the log!

Thanks for the help, guys!

It works out far better really because the silly log isn't persistent and is impossible to copy from anyway, so if I want to re-use some test code after a restart this is the only way to go.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/