ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:38 am 
Offline
Wayist

Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 24
Firstly, can I say a well done to darkgod for this game, just 'what the doctor ordered' for those working across multiple platforms.

Having finally finished a game to the point of gaining Adventurer, i'd like to try and add a few esoteric features.
At least from the off-line player perspective, and from a linux users direction, after I worked out what was needed to do to sort out my initial problems (http://forums.te4.org/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=48860).
Can I ask a few silly developing type questions?
I've looked at https://te4.org/wiki/Main_Page, but I have a couple of basic questions still, before I go any deeper.

1- do i need to recomplile everything to include some object I have created, or can I just copy the files into the relevant directories of a working version to try it out?
2- Is there a set of very basic instructions for creating each type of object (players character type / item / quests / etc.)?

No doubt there will be more depending on your answers.

and thanks again for such an enjoyable game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:09 am 
Offline
Wayist

Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 24
OK, i've done a lot of reading and playing around and have sort of worked out 2- above, but 1- confuses me. I can create a tome zip file and add it to the addons, but I want to be able to dynamically play around if I can and that doesn't seem possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:50 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:27 am
Posts: 79
Are you making addons or changing base game assets directly? If the former, you don't need to zip things up, just having everything in a folder in Talesmajeyal/game/addons/tome-youraddon will work perfectly well. If you are changing base assets, they need to be unpacked into their normal directory, and the zipped version stashed outside of scope. I do all my edits in Notepad++ while the game is running, but you will have to quite the module and re-load in order to recompile. The only way to do things fully dynamically would be to re-load files from the development console, and I'm afraid I don't know if that's remotely possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:41 pm 
Offline
Wayist

Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 24
Thank you Lokean, I shall persevere with the character first I think and then go from there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:42 pm 
Offline
Wayist

Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 24
scsijon wrote:
Thank you Lokean, I shall persevere with the character first which can go into the addons directory as a .team zip file I think, and then go from there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group