ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 326 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 22  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:59 am 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
Frankly it looks as if you have a well and truly broken system. It appears that the 32 bit compiler is looking at 64 bit libs...? This is usually not a good sign.

@Download: It's not that I don't agree that it'd be nice to have a "proper" home page, but right now I don't have the time nor resources (aka. hosting) to put anything together :/.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:53 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
I think I can figure it out: I probably must run a certain script before being 32-bit compiling. Why is TOME even still 32-bit? This is the 10th year 64-bit CPUs have been out. I do not know if 32-bit systems have been sold for years. Probably many people will have such problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:18 am 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
You don't have to compile in 32-bit. I use 64-bit exclusively.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:31 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
Ok; I see I will have to get help to fix my system, or reinstall. I thought my compiler was detecting Tome was 32-bit and trying to compile with that. Now, I tried to compile on a pure 64-bit system and got the following errors. If you do not want to see the warnings, please check the make error at the bottom.

Code:
d@athenaion:~/tome2-tome2$ cmake -DSYSTEM_INSTALL:BOOL=true .&&make&&sudo make install
[...]
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'Term_init_sdl':                         
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:833:13: warning: unused variable 'td'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'Term_nuke_sdl':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:840:13: warning: unused variable 'td'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'Term_user_sdl':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:847:13: warning: unused variable 'td'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'Term_text_sdl':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:1715:4: warning: array subscript has type 'char'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'Term_pict_sdl':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:1768:13: warning: unused variable 'td'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'bringToTop':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:1959:13: warning: unused variable 'tc'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'manipulationMode':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:2134:14: warning: unused variable 'backup'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: In function 'init_sdl':
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:2559:12: warning: assignment discards qualifiers from pointer target type
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:2536:9: warning: unused variable 'surface_type'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c: At top level:
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:158:13: warning: 'arg_double_width' defined but not used
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:831:13: warning: 'Term_init_sdl' defined but not used
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:838:13: warning: 'Term_nuke_sdl' defined but not used
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:845:13: warning: 'Term_user_sdl' defined but not used
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-sdl.c:1766:13: warning: 'Term_pict_sdl' defined but not used
[ 40%] Building C object src/CMakeFiles/tome.dir/main-gtk2.c.o
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-gtk2.c: In function 'load_xpm':                             
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-gtk2.c:1735:3: warning: format '%06lX' expects type 'long unsigned int *', but argument 3 has type 'u32b *'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-gtk2.c:1736:19: warning: format '%06lx' expects type 'long unsigned int *', but argument 3 has type 'u32b *'
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-gtk2.c: At top level:
/home/d/tome2-tome2/src/main-gtk2.c:3545:13: warning: 'font_ok_callback' defined but not used
[...]
Linking C executable tome                                                               
CMakeFiles/tome.dir/util.c.o: In function `path_temp':                                   
util.c:(.text+0x24b): warning: the use of `tmpnam' is dangerous, better use `mkstemp'
[...]
CMake Error at lib/cmake_install.cmake:44 (FILE):
  file INSTALL cannot find "/home/d/tome2-tome2/lib/plot".
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  cmake_install.cmake:38 (INCLUDE)


make: *** [install] Error 1



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:38 am 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
Thanks for reporting this -- it should be fixed in 'master' now.

Btw, you don't have to run 'make install' to play. You can run directly from the same directory you're building in. Just typing
Code:
./src/tome

after building.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:41 am 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am
Posts: 708
Grr. FWIW, I really messed up my git branches trying to merge the SDL changes into them (which I now recognize was a really bad move). I'm probably going to have to restart the trap-skills branch from scratch (which fortunately is not very hard).

(Actually, the history of my master branch is all messed up now too, from my accidental merger of the unlua changes. Is there any way I can prune out the stuff that I deleted with git reset?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:13 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
Ok; I did not 'make install' yet. When I ran ./src/tome, it had many Lua errors and said something like 'Welcome to Tome. You need to load a module.' I could not copy the errors, because when I ran it, it popped up a window instead of running in my terminal... and as for running it on a pure console, it just did nothing. I wish the default would be to run in a console or on the terminal. What player of roguelike games really wants windows popping up and the game not working where it is meant to? If someone can remind me how to run it in a console or terminal, I will report the errors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:59 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
darwin wrote:
What player of roguelike games really wants windows popping up ...

Most of them, I should imagine. The curses/GCU mode is pretty gimped, especially with respect to ESC/Ctrl handling. Plus it doesn't support multiple windows, a feature that many players find indispensable. In fact, I've been toying with the idea of simply removing it -- one less platform to support.

darwin wrote:
and the game not working where it is meant to?

Well, obviously, it's not meant to crash at startup. The X11 mode has always worked well for me.

If you're compiling with -DSYSTEM_INSTALL:BOOL=true then you will have to install it to run -- otherwise the game won't find the data files where it expects. (I realize that my previous instructions here might have misled you to think that. Sorry about that.) If that's not the problem, then please post the exact commands you're running to compile and run. It's hard to help without such information.

darwin wrote:
If someone can remind me how to run it in a console or terminal, I will report the errors.

You can run in Curses mode by adding "-mgcu" to the command line, but as I say, it's pretty gimped.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:08 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
Lord Estraven wrote:
Grr. FWIW, I really messed up my git branches trying to merge the SDL changes into them (which I now recognize was a really bad move). I'm probably going to have to restart the trap-skills branch from scratch (which fortunately is not very hard).

(Actually, the history of my master branch is all messed up now too, from my accidental merger of the unlua changes. Is there any way I can prune out the stuff that I deleted with git reset?)


You desription of what you did is too vague to be of much help, I'm afraid.

However, to get the code from your merge requests you can try to create a fresh clone of my repository and do this:
Code:
git checkout -b merge-requests/2
git pull origin refs/merge-requests/2

(ditto for your req#1, just replace merge-requests/2 with merge-requests/1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:34 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am
Posts: 708
Honestly, I don't quite remember what I did; it was very late IIRC. :oops: But it looks like I pulled the unlua changes into all my branches, then did a hard reset on all of them. In the process I seem to have lost the changes in trap-skills, though I was able to restore the ones in neutered-traps with another hard reset.

I'm guessing this is a casebook example of how not to use git...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
I got TOME v2.3.9-ah to compile and run. However, when I run my SlackBuild (compile script) at http://pastebin.com/6bRvsQQH I get the error at http://pastebin.com/FvECYpVP. When I comment out the only cmake switch that should really matter, I just get another error. Anyone know what is going on? I am pretty close to getting this to work so people can use it with SBopkg to install TOME on Slackware, but I am not sure what else is going wrong. Some people involved with Slackware expect people to be a great expert, and though I have been programming since 1993 and using POSIX-style systems since '97, I am still not an expert with make, let alone cmake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:06 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
Should be fixed in latest master, by the commit with ID 9aa79e62af940449f04a290cb12547729f56478c.

Basically, the "plot" directory was removed at some point, but the "install" portions of CMakeLists.txt still list it for installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:12 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
AnonymousHero wrote:
Should be fixed in latest master, by the commit with ID 9aa79e62af940449f04a290cb12547729f56478c.

Basically, the "plot" directory was removed at some point, but the "install" portions of CMakeLists.txt still list it for installation.


So, it will not be fixed for v2.3.9-ah, or a new stable version soon? When I said it compiled and ran, I guess I meant without installing, and I just ran it from 'src.' When I lessened what my script did until it was the exact commands as in readme.txt, and also trying those from the console, it would not get past the bug of looking for 'plot:' v2.3.9-ah seems broken for installing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:24 am 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm
Posts: 482
darwin wrote:
AnonymousHero wrote:
Should be fixed in latest master, by the commit with ID 9aa79e62af940449f04a290cb12547729f56478c.

Basically, the "plot" directory was removed at some point, but the "install" portions of CMakeLists.txt still list it for installation.


So, it will not be fixed for v2.3.9-ah, or a new stable version soon?

I can't fix it for v2.3.9-ah as that's been "released".

I could tag v2.3.10-ah, but I'd like to get confirmation that the 9aa79e62 commit does indeed fix the problem for you. Can you confirm that it does?

darwin wrote:
When I said it compiled and ran, I guess I meant without installing, and I just ran it from 'src.' When I lessened what my script did until it was the exact commands as in readme.txt, and also trying those from the console, it would not get past the bug of looking for 'plot:' v2.3.9-ah seems broken for installing.

It seems so. (Btw, even "the exact commands as in readme.txt" is not very specific. Did you run the commands for "option #1" or "option #2", both, or the FreeBSD ones, etc.? I'm not trying to be annoying, I'm just trying to point out that it helps to be as specific as humanly possible when reporting bugs/problems. When in doubt simply paste all the commands and output in a [ code] block.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ToME 2 maintenance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:11 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Washington state, USA
AnonymousHero wrote:
I could tag v2.3.10-ah, but I'd like to get confirmation that the 9aa79e62 commit does indeed fix the problem for you. Can you confirm that it does?


I will try as soon as I can download it. I went to http://gitorious.org/tome2/tome2/commits/master and to 'download master as tar.gz;' for about 20 mins it has been saying it is generating a tarball.

Quote:
It seems so. (Btw, even "the exact commands as in readme.txt" is not very specific. Did you run the commands for "option #1" or "option #2", both, or the FreeBSD ones, etc.? I'm not trying to be annoying, I'm just trying to point out that it helps to be as specific as humanly possible when reporting bugs/problems. When in doubt simply paste all the commands and output in a [ code] block.)


A few weeks ago I showed my instance of what happened when I did option 2. That is what I have usually been doing and should have been clear from my previous description. Sorry... the code block would have been the same as my previous one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 326 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 22  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group