[v1.6.0+] Interact with the Mech

A place to post your add ons and ideas for them

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

[v1.6.0+] Interact with the Mech

#1 Post by Zizzo »

A Steam user recently requested an addon similar to Interact with the Worm for interacting with Annihilators' mecharachnids. Which I agree seems like an obvious thing to do; hence my new (creatively named) Interact with the Mech addon. Changing equipment and manipulating talent points works just like with the golem (the latter is less useful at first; I gather it becomes more useful with Mecharachnid Chassis?), and we gain the ability to change the mecharachnid's name. :wink: I didn't add the change-tactics option, though; as with the worm that walks, I get the impression that the game is doing some deep wizardry under the hood with the mecharachnid AI.

[Technical info:]

Code: Select all

Hooks:
  ToME:load [to load our new talent and hook it to Mecharachnid]
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: [v1.6.0+] Interact with the Mech

#2 Post by Zizzo »

…so, turns out that to attach a steamgun to the mecharachnid's tail, you have to transfer it from the player's inventory to the mecharachnid's inventory, switch control to the mecharachnid, and use the mecharachnid's Tail Attachment talent. Because that's not at all convoluted or annoying. :roll: v1a thus adds a new action to the Interact with the Mech chat dialog to access the tail mount. (This required a bit of deep hackery, as the Tail Attachment talent isn't expecting to have to deal with someone else's inventory, but sometimes I like a challenge. :twisted: )

And as long as I was in the neighborhood, I added a few more small things that were bugging me:
  • I always forget when my mecharachnid has new talent points to spend, either because I increased my Mecharachid Chassis talent level or because I switched chassis and haven't spend the points in the new chassis yet. So the new release prints a log message as a reminder, similar to the one the player gets on level-up.
  • This one I think is a bug: If your mecharachnid is using, say, the Armament chassis, and you switch it to Assault when it has no steamsaws in inventory to switch the tail mount to, it will leave the current steamgun mounted, which just seems ripe for problems. The new release detects this case and unmounts the mismatched tail weapon.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: [v1.6.0+] Interact with the Mech

#3 Post by Zizzo »

Tiny bugfix in v1a.1: y'know that "Your mecharachnid has new talent points to spend" log message we added in the previous release? Turns out it was getting the name of the mecharachnid's chassis wrong. We Apologize for the Error.™ :wink:
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: [v1.6.0+] Interact with the Mech

#4 Post by Zizzo »

Y'know, it's kind of counterproductive to include the "Change tail mount" command among our options when we can't actually attach anything to the tail because the mecharachnid doesn't know the Tail Attachment talent yet. :oops: That's fixed in v1a.2. We Apologize for the Error.™
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Post Reply