"Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

A place to post your add ons and ideas for them

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

"Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#1 Post by nekarcos »

Welp, here it is everyone! The "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on-- Courtesy of yours truly: Nekarcos.
I don't feel like there's a whole lot I can say because I've already said most of it during the two weeks leading up to this.

... Well, I guess there's one thing I COULD say: "Enjoy peeps!" :D


*** Please find the add-on on the TE4.org website or search for it on Steam Workshop (if it showed up correctly)
-- Or, check out this URL: http://te4.org/games/addons/tome/neka_t ... y_summoner


*** No spoilers!
Now, I'm VERY concerned about spoilers with this add-on, so I'd like to ask: What is a good way for me to post known bugs/issues/details, as well as collecting any reports from people?
I thought about posting a list on this thread, but I don't want to force people to have to scroll past potential spoilers just to read other posts. Please let me know if there's any kind of "formal" process people typically use when posting add-ons. As big as this add-on might be, I'm still technically a newb. :?

EDIT: You can talk about spoilers HERE!


*** A bit of a disclaimer!
I DO plan to perform continued maintenance for this add-on for a while (It's version "0.1.0" at the moment), so PLEASE, post anything glitchy or strange that happens to you while you're playing. Tell me about typos-- Strange inconsistency-- ANYTHING whatsoever! I am just one person, and could not test out everything as thoroughly as I'd like to.
I would like you all to ABSOLUTELY tear this add-on apart-- But, for that exact reason, please enter with discretion and cynicism-- This add-on WILL break. It will be used in ways I had never anticipated-- And then, I will have to fix that.

... In fact, everyone... I already got a headstart. I have, at the ready, a list of expected errors/bugs that you may encounter while you're playing-- But I need a "go-ahead" from everyone about how I should post such a thing.


*** Change List / Add-on log
And finally... For the "nerds" out there who are interested in examining/reading through this add-on's code and want to know some deeper details (or you're interested in my code and want to study/learn from it), I've written out an entire log that provides the "nerdy" details about what exactly this add-on does to the base game.

Again, I need a go-ahead from everyone and some advice on how to proceed with this, so please let me know ASAP! I'll be watching this thread like a hawk.

Cheers!
Last edited by nekarcos on Sat Jul 30, 2016 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

rexorcorum
Graphical God
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:05 am
Location: There and Back again

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#2 Post by rexorcorum »

Just started and I can say I'm really impressed. And I mean - really really impressed :mrgreen:
And came to report a bug as well ;) - you've made new gfx only for metal UI, thus when playing with any other (Dark, Steam, Stone) if you try to open the Avatar's inventory, it naturally gives a lua error (if you need the exact error message, I'll post it later, cause gotta go now)

Anyways, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G stuff.
~ [ RexOrcorum, a.k.a "rexo": Official Visual Magus, Addon Beautifier, Achiever, Knight of the 561 Trees, Dark Interfacer ] ~
darkgod wrote:~ [ DarkGod whips rexorcorum with Suslik (& many others as well) ] ~

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#3 Post by nekarcos »

@rexorcorum
I feared this...
At one point, I realized adding new slots and such meant I would have to create an equivalent for EVERY menu interface.
I guess for now, you should stick to using Metal UI (or if you're a bit add-on savy-- Create a new folder and copy-paste the graphics)

No worries-- I'll add this to my list of TO-DOs, thanks!
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

rexorcorum
Graphical God
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:05 am
Location: There and Back again

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#4 Post by rexorcorum »

Hehe, no problem with copypasting, cause I'm not going back to Metal ever 8)
~ [ RexOrcorum, a.k.a "rexo": Official Visual Magus, Addon Beautifier, Achiever, Knight of the 561 Trees, Dark Interfacer ] ~
darkgod wrote:~ [ DarkGod whips rexorcorum with Suslik (& many others as well) ] ~

Micbran
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1154
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:19 am
Location: Yeehaw, pardner

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#5 Post by Micbran »

After the army retreats in the very first Ritch quest:

Code: Select all

error = "Lua Error: /data/chats/summon-start-kill.lua:8: attempt to call method 'disappear' (a nil value)\
  At [C]:-1 disappear\
  At /data/chats/summon-start-kill.lua:8 action\
  At /engine/dialogs/Chat.lua:96 use\
  At /engine/dialogs/Chat.lua:70 on_input\
  At /engine/KeyCommand.lua:71 receiveKey\
  At /engine/ui/Dialog.lua:666 keyEvent\
  At /engine/ui/Dialog.lua:401
A little bit of a starters guide written by yours truly here.

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#6 Post by nekarcos »

- New Dark UI versions of the icons are made
- Fixed a Hydra/Ritch specific quest bug (you know what I'm talking about)
- Hmmm... That "disappear" error is a strange one. That is an engine function that I haven't even touched at all... Is your ToME version 1.4.8? Do you have any other add-ons installed that might be modifying that function? Just in case, I've added a fallback to the code that will call "die()" instead if "disappear()" doesn't exist. If the entity doesn't have "die()" either-- Then something is seriously wrong. :?

... Alright, so these problems are all patched-- But an important question...

When one intends to update an add-on-- Do they simply upload it again the same way they did at first, or is there something automatic?
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#7 Post by nekarcos »

... Yeah, I'm not sure how to "update" my add-on. I tried reuploading it, and all it did was create a duplicate right next to the old one :?

I think I've made things worse lol
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

Micbran
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1154
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:19 am
Location: Yeehaw, pardner

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#8 Post by Micbran »

Change the version number in the init.lua, and then from there you should just be able to choose upload an addon option in dev mode to do it.

EDIT: also, at the time I was using these addons:

Slightly More Adventurous, Zominibus Addon Pack, Ignore Race/Class Locks, Half-Finished Bone Giant Nerf, Faster Run/Rest/Explore, all the DLC, and of course, your addon. None of which I believe would cause that problem.
A little bit of a starters guide written by yours truly here.

astralInferno
Uruivellas
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:40 am

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#9 Post by astralInferno »

Are you uploading the addon via the ctrl-A menu?
There should be 'register new addon', and then another option below it to update. (I don't recall the exact wording.) You want the second one. You'll need to increment (add one to) the Addon_version field in init.lua.

Assuming it's coded the same way as smaller addons. ^O^''

As for spoilers, people don't usually worry too much. The size of this addon makes it much more understandable that you'd want to; though. Putting the changelog/known bugs in a separate post might make sense.

Radon26
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:50 am

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#10 Post by Radon26 »

i believe there is a misspelling in the 11th talent's description in the natural combat. there is a -, where there should be +, that or i am not getting what you are trying to say there.
Last edited by Radon26 on Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#11 Post by nekarcos »

@astralInferno
Alright, I'll keep that in mind-- Although, I DID increase the version number (0.1.1), but the option hasn't changed. Does it only work for the first/second values?

@Radon26
You ARE, in fact, LOSING 1 size class at earlier levels. You have to continue investing in order to turn it positive :lol:
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

tabs
Wyrmic
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#12 Post by tabs »

Got this error right after killing Prox and moving onto his tile. I'm a Hydra.

Code: Select all

Lua Error: /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625: stack overflow
	At [C]:-1 __index
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
       ...
        [repeat that error line about 1000 times. Not kidding.]
       ...

        At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 previousFunction
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:625 neka_inspect
	At /data-neka_therianthropy_summoner/replacements.lua:636 check
	At /engine/interface/ActorInventory.lua:231 pickupFloor
	At /mod/class/Player.lua:252 describeFloor
	At /mod/class/Player.lua:318 moveDir
	At /mod/class/Game.lua:1739 
	At /engine/KeyBind.lua:230 

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#13 Post by nekarcos »

@tabs
I'm looking into it right now. Do you have happen to know which object was on the ground?
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

Radon26
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:50 am

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#14 Post by Radon26 »

pretty sure the summoner mentioned that the towns are used to me.
well, i entered dearth, and was immediately attacked by the the dumb peasants.
and patrolls are trying to murder me.

nekarcos
Uruivellas
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:50 pm

Re: "Odyssey of The Summoner" is OUT!! Find it here...

#15 Post by nekarcos »

@Radon26
Did a chat trigger as soon as you entered? Normally, you should either be stopped by two guards, or you get a message saying that nobody is stopping you.
If not... Hmmm... I'll continue to investigate it. Tell me any add-ons you are currently using, then try to reproduce the error with all other add-ons off. That way, I can be certain this is not add-on compatibility shenanigans :(

Plot-wise, you are still currently unaware of how to speak. When you enter Derth, you are forced into a "tough" situation-- And this is where you learn to speak-- Which makes "Allied Kingdoms" more friendly with you.
Creator of the (rather large) "Odyssey of The Summoner" add-on pack

Post Reply