So the upcoming v1.3 release apparently modifies the short-circuiting behavior this addon was created to manage: instead of being punted straight to the last level, the player gets a dialog on entering the zone asking whether to short-circuit.
Now, as currently implemented, setting this addon's "Short-circuit some early dungeons" to disabled will go to the first level of the zone without prompt, and setting it to enabled will revert to the base behavior of showing the dialog. Given this, do you the playing audience consider this addon to be obviated by the new dialog (and thus potentially to be removed from ZOmnibus)?
[Actually, now that I think of it, an "Always/Never/Ask" setting as done in Opt-In Adventurers Parties would be nice... [sound F/X: source diving] hmm, no, the dialog is buried far too deep in Game:changeLevelReal() to be able to superload around it; never mind, then.]
[b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
Moderator: Moderator
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit
I don't use ZOmnibus, but I will continue to use this addon because I don't plan to ever skip to the last level and I don't want to see a dialog everytime.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit
That's my sentiment as well, and since it's shared, I'll keep this addon active (with suitable tweaks to the option description for the v1.3 release).Effigy wrote:I don't use ZOmnibus, but I will continue to use this addon because I don't plan to ever skip to the last level and I don't want to see a dialog everytime.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
As you probably don't recall, Inventory Show All Tabs By Default used to be part of ZOmnibus, and I deprecated it and clawed it back out when the bug we were working around was reportedly fixed in release 1.0.6. Well, apparently "reportedly" is the right word, because I still run into it sometimes. The quickest way to reproduce it is to create a new Cornac character, leave Trollmire immediately, go to Derth, and go to a store therein; you should see that only the Weapons tab on the player inventory side of the store dialog is selected.
Well, no code ever dies permanently in a Subversion repository, so I've exhumed this addon and bashed it back into proverbial fighting trim (man, I used to write atrocious code 11 years ago… ) and I'm re-releasing it as v2. [Heck, this predates the Steam release; I'm actually gonna have to make a Steam page image for this sucker. ]
[Now, as I said, this addon was originally part of ZOmnibus (heck, it was one of the founding members), but nowadays I would categorize it as a bugfix addon, and we can see from this addon's own history why I'm reluctant to add those to ZOmnibus…]
[Implementation notes:]
Well, no code ever dies permanently in a Subversion repository, so I've exhumed this addon and bashed it back into proverbial fighting trim (man, I used to write atrocious code 11 years ago… ) and I'm re-releasing it as v2. [Heck, this predates the Steam release; I'm actually gonna have to make a Steam page image for this sucker. ]
[Now, as I said, this addon was originally part of ZOmnibus (heck, it was one of the founding members), but nowadays I would categorize it as a bugfix addon, and we can see from this addon's own history why I'm reluctant to add those to ZOmnibus…]
[Implementation notes:]
Code: Select all
Hooks:
ToME:load [to set 'first time' flags for our supported dialogs]
Superload:
mod.dialogs.ShowInventory:
firstDisplay() [to fix tab selection on first open]
mod.dialogs.ShowEquipInven:
firstDisplay() [as above]
mod.dialogs.ShowStore:
firstDisplay() [as above]
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Low Yeek
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2022 7:15 am
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
Ooh that makes me wonder: is it possible to sort the inventory by Recency? (From latest picked item to oldest)
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
[sound F/X: source diving] Hmm, tricky; the game doesn't record when an item was picked up. The UI would also be a question: is this something you'd want on all the time, or something you'd want to be able to toggle in the inventory dialog somehow? Would you want pick-up time shown in the inventory list?GokuderaElPsyCongro wrote: ↑Thu Aug 29, 2024 5:48 pm Ooh that makes me wonder: is it possible to sort the inventory by Recency? (From latest picked item to oldest)
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."
-
- Low Yeek
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2022 7:15 am
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
It's definitely something I'd love to have enabled at all times. I often pick a big stack of items without looking and find myself scrolling through the transmo tab trying to find what I just picked. A solution I had to that is to directly seek the item tooltip in the message log, not ideal but yeah…
For my use pick-up time wouldn't be needed.
-
- Sher'Tul Godslayer
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
- Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
- Contact:
Re: [b43-1.0.5] Inventory Show All Tabs/Tier-1 Short Circuit Opt
Okay, I've released a stab at this. I figured Inventory Sort Order would be the best place to add this functionality, since we're already sorting stuff.GokuderaElPsyCongro wrote: ↑Tue Sep 03, 2024 11:32 pm It's definitely something I'd love to have enabled at all times. I often pick a big stack of items without looking and find myself scrolling through the transmo tab trying to find what I just picked. A solution I had to that is to directly seek the item tooltip in the message log, not ideal but yeah…
For my use pick-up time wouldn't be needed.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."