Hex option for modules

Moderator: Moderator

Message
Author
Grey
Loremaster
Posts: 3516
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Hex option for modules

#1 Post by Grey »

Would be cool to make a game in hex grids instead of squares. Is this possible...?
http://www.gamesofgrey.com - My own T-Engine games!
Roguelike Radio - A podcast about roguelikes

Final Master
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:16 pm
Location: Inside the minds of all
Contact:

Re: Hex option for modules

#2 Post by Final Master »

I've always wondered, what would a hex grid offer that a square grid cannot?
Final Master's Character Guides
Final Master's Guide to the Arena
Edge: Final Master... official Tome 4 (thread) necromancer.
Zonk: I'd rather be sick than on fire! :D

Dekar
Spiderkin
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:47 pm

Re: Hex option for modules

#3 Post by Dekar »

All surrounding tiles have the same distance from the center tile. :D

Grey
Loremaster
Posts: 3516
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Hex option for modules

#4 Post by Grey »

Easier control system for laptops too (QWEASD for movement). And it looks cool.
http://www.gamesofgrey.com - My own T-Engine games!
Roguelike Radio - A podcast about roguelikes

yufra
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Hex option for modules

#5 Post by yufra »

It would require changes to the C core, particularly the C map objects and fov calculations. In short, possible but difficult. It would be very interesting, though.
<DarkGod> lets say it's intended

Rectifier
Archmage
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:06 am

Re: Hex option for modules

#6 Post by Rectifier »

Considering that all the talents are based off of squares, this would be more than just a re-code of the movement/tiles.

yufra
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 1332
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Hex option for modules

#7 Post by yufra »

I think very few talents actually assume a square, most use the engine code to do a cone/circle/line projection. Those projections would have to be made hex-aware, but the talents should work regardless. I could be wrong, though.

EDIT: Also I don't think the suggestion is that ToME4 go to hex. Note that this is in the T-Engine 4 forum, not the ToME4 one. :)
<DarkGod> lets say it's intended

Grey
Loremaster
Posts: 3516
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Hex option for modules

#8 Post by Grey »

Yeah, even the title of the thread says "for modules" :P Talent system is irrelevant. A UI and co-ordinate system is all that's needed. The module coder can do the rest.
http://www.gamesofgrey.com - My own T-Engine games!
Roguelike Radio - A podcast about roguelikes

tiger_eye
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:20 am

Re: Hex option for modules

#9 Post by tiger_eye »

A hex option would be great. I'm sure it's doable, but I'm not going to try to estimate the amount of work it would entail.

The core FoV code would be straightforward to do efficiently with recursive shadowcasting (which would have asymmetric LoS like the current system in tome, but would be less severe, I believe, due to being hexagonal). A very permissive and symmetric fov/los system would also be possible. If you would like this for a 7DRL, Grey, let me know and I should be able to whip it up before the next 7DRL challenge.

Grey
Loremaster
Posts: 3516
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Hex option for modules

#10 Post by Grey »

If it's available I'll certainly use it. I can't think of any game that isn't improved by being changed to hexes.
http://www.gamesofgrey.com - My own T-Engine games!
Roguelike Radio - A podcast about roguelikes

Rectifier
Archmage
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:06 am

Re: Hex option for modules

#11 Post by Rectifier »

yufra wrote:I think very few talents actually assume a square, most use the engine code to do a cone/circle/line projection. Those projections would have to be made hex-aware, but the talents should work regardless. I could be wrong, though.

EDIT: Also I don't think the suggestion is that ToME4 go to hex. Note that this is in the T-Engine 4 forum, not the ToME4 one. :)
I meant more about about balance, but the fact that it doesn't depend on squares programmatically is encouraging.

catwhowalksbyhimself
Wyrmic
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:19 am
Location: Plainville, CT

Re: Hex option for modules

#12 Post by catwhowalksbyhimself »

Again, balance is not an issue, since we're talking about this as an option for original modules, not for ToME 4 itself.
"I am the cat that walks by himself. All ways are alike to me."
--Rudyard Kipling, "The Cat That Walked By Himself"

tiger_eye
Perspiring Physicist
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:20 am

Re: Hex option for modules

#13 Post by tiger_eye »

Shazam!!
hex_fov.jpg
hex_fov.jpg (217.54 KiB) Viewed 7849 times
darkgod wrote:OMFG tiger eye you are my hero!

Grey
Loremaster
Posts: 3516
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Hex option for modules

#14 Post by Grey »

tiger_eye, I think I need to second DarkGod's quote from your sig :-D
http://www.gamesofgrey.com - My own T-Engine games!
Roguelike Radio - A podcast about roguelikes

bricks
Sher'Tul
Posts: 1262
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:10 pm

Re: Hex option for modules

#15 Post by bricks »

:O Now we need a square-to-hex map converter so I can play all of ToME in hexes.
Sorry about all the parentheses (sometimes I like to clarify things).

Post Reply