Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

If you have a module that you'd like comments on or would like to know how to create your very own module, post here

Moderator: Moderator

What do you want to see in the next release?

Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite race/subrace/class yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite skill/talent/spell/ability yet? (specify below)
2
67%
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite scroll/potion/wand/staff/rod/other object yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite store/quest/event yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, that's not what that dungeon's supposed to look like! (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, why haven't you implemented my favorite game mechanic/UI feature yet? (specify below)
0
No votes
Hey, that's a bug! Go fix that bug! (specify below)
1
33%
Hey, you didn't list what I want to see! (specify below)
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 3

Message
Author
Lord Estraven
Uruivellas
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#541 Post by Lord Estraven »

Hmm, weird question but is there a way to move or disable the map HUD? It blocks a large chunk of the view :|

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#542 Post by Zizzo »

Lord Estraven wrote:Hmm, weird question but is there a way to move or disable the map HUD? It blocks a large chunk of the view :|
Not currently, no. The current UI is about 90% duct tape and bailing wire by volume, :oops: and as you've observed, there's very little configurability.

Actually, now that you mention it, the UI would probably be a good thing for me to work on for the next release. Any suggestions or preferences? I could go with something closer to the Minimalist UI, with an icon-based buffs/debuffs area and actual resource bars. Or would that be too much?
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Lord Estraven
Uruivellas
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#543 Post by Lord Estraven »

Eh it's okay! I feel like it might be good for now to have a hotkey to enable/disable the map, and make it 100% opaque to avoid UI jumble.

(If it helps, jumble isn't a problem unique to your T2 port; I started playing T4 again today, and was quickly wishing for a way to disable popup alpha transparency. Guessing this is one of those things that works great for most people, but not for me and my weird sensory issues.)

Thorondor
Higher
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:59 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#544 Post by Thorondor »

Thanks very much for the update.
We apologise for the delay in playtesting (TM!)

Am afraid there's a significant issue with auto-repeat commands; - e.g. resting, attempting to open doors etc.
Normally I'd post an error log but they seem not to be in the same place as usual.
Character is a eru-following human sorcerer; - should be easy to replicate.
I'll post a formal screenshot if you can't replicate it.

Stay safe :)

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#545 Post by Zizzo »

Thorondor wrote:Am afraid there's a significant issue with auto-repeat commands; - e.g. resting, attempting to open doors etc.
Normally I'd post an error log but they seem not to be in the same place as usual.
Character is a eru-following human sorcerer; - should be easy to replicate.
I'll post a formal screenshot if you can't replicate it.
…well, I'll at least need to know what it's actually doing that it's not supposed to be doing (or vice versa).
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Thorondor
Higher
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:59 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#546 Post by Thorondor »

Sorry - have found the error reports now.
One was whilst resting the other attempting to open a locked door.

error = "Game version: tome2-0.5.0\
Addons: gond_book-0.3.0, landmark-0.2.0, town_neutral-0.3.0\
\
Lua Error: /mod/class/Player.lua:819: attempt to call global '_t' (a nil value)\
At [C]:-1 _t\
At /mod/class/Player.lua:819 restCheck\
At /engine/interface/PlayerRest.lua:47 restInit\
At /mod/class/Game.lua:1175 \
At /engine/KeyBind.lua:237 "
seen = true
reported = false

error = "Game version: tome2-0.5.0\
Addons: gond_book-0.3.0, landmark-0.2.0, town_neutral-0.3.0\
\
Lua Error: /mod/class/Game.lua:965: /mod/class/Player.lua:819: attempt to call global '_t' (a nil value)\
At [C]:-1 \
At [C]:-1 error\
At /mod/class/Game.lua:965 do_in_coroutine\
At /mod/class/Game.lua:1064 \
At /engine/KeyBind.lua:237 "
seen = true
reported = true

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#547 Post by Zizzo »

Thorondor wrote: Lua Error: /mod/class/Player.lua:819: attempt to call global '_t' (a nil value)\
[…]

Lua Error: /mod/class/Game.lua:965: /mod/class/Player.lua:819: attempt to call global '_t' (a nil value)\
Huh. '_t' is the guts of 1.7's localization handling. [sound F/X: source diving] And that's the one spot where it's leaked into the module from the engine. I wonder if that has to be enabled explicitly… [sound F/X: further source diving] ah, yes, the 'i18n_support' flag in init.lua.

This should be a quick fix, I think. Give me a day or so to test it, and to check whether there's any other bugfixes that need to be merged from trunk.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#548 Post by Zizzo »

Zizzo wrote:I wonder if that has to be enabled explicitly… [sound F/X: further source diving] ah, yes, the 'i18n_support' flag in init.lua.
…Hmm, actually, what engine version are you using? I'm no longer convinced that the absence of the 'i18n_support' flag should lead to the error you're seeing (and thus neither convinced that adding the flag will fix it), and I can't reproduce the bug at my end without said flag.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Thorondor
Higher
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:59 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#549 Post by Thorondor »

Thanks Zizzo - was on old version of engine; - problem has gone now I updated to 1.7. Apologies! :oops:

Thorondor
Higher
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:59 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#550 Post by Thorondor »

Hi Zizzo

Thanks again for the new patch:
Here's a couple of things I've found so far:


Shops:
buying multiple stacked items seems like there's an issue with adding up.

1 scroll of town portal = 179
2 scrolls of town portal = 202
3 scrolls of town portal = 226
4 scrolls of town portal = 250

1 potion of ccw 119
2 potions of ccw 143
3 potions of ccw 262
4 potions of ccw 286

1 potion of cure light wounds 18
2 potions of cure light wounds 42
3 potions of cure light wounds 65
4 potions of cure light wounds 89


Scroll of word of recall: error code at end of countdown...

error = "Game version: tome2-0.5.0\
Addons: gond_book-0.3.0, landmark-0.2.0, town_neutral-0.3.0\
\
Lua Error: /mod/util.lua:1044: attempt to index global 'data' (a nil value)\
At [C]:-1 __index\
At /mod/util.lua:1044 is_quest_level\
At /data/timed_effects.lua:1817 \
At /engine/Game.lua:327 onTickEndExecute\
At /engine/Game.lua:314 tick\
At /mod/class/GameEnergyBasedEvilHack.lua:28 tick\
At /engine/GameTurnBased.lua:51 tick\
At /mod/class/Game.lua:654 "
seen = true
reported = false

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#551 Post by Zizzo »

[sound F/X: source diving] Hmm, yeah, I think that recall breakage merits an emergy bugfix release:

Release 0.5.1 "Price Check"

A few bugfixes in this release:
  • Stupid copy/paste typo in the is_quest_level() function we added in the last release, which would probably have broken several things but most notably broke recall.
  • In fact, on closer examination, I don't think I was doing this quest-level thing quite right. T2 appears to have two indicators for this: the 'inside_quest' player flag and the 'is_quest()' function, only the latter of which reports princess/lost-sword quest levels. I think my previous handling would have made it impossible to recall out of incomplete princess quest levels, which I'm pretty sure T2 allows. We Apologize for the Inconvenience.™ :oops:
  • Small typo in the identify code that was preventing a full *Identify* from propagating down into a stack of objects. Surprisingly, this was screwing up store prices — see, despite appearances, not all of the Scrolls of Identify you were trying to buy from the Alchemy shop were actually identified, so some were selling for the un-ID'd price. :shock:
I've probably missed some reported bugs in the above; We Apologize for the Inconvenience.™ :oops: (Don't hesitate to report them again. :wink: ) Known bugs that are still under investigation include:
  • Odd jumpgate destinations in Wights quest.
  • Travak appearing multiple times (and apparently other artifacts…).
  • Randarts reporting *ID*'d info when just ID'd? Maybe some sloppiness in Object:getDesc().
  • Maze edge walls not visible.
And a feature I had lying around: :wink:
  • To my astonishment, we were only setting up keybindings for three pages worth of hotkeys… :shock: We now use the engine's PlayerHotkeys:bindAllHotkeys() handling, which gives us all seven pages currently supported by the engine and should keep us up-to-date with potential future changes.
Since this is a fairly small release, I don't think I had room to introduce any new bugs, so any bugs you find were probably already present and just hadn't been found yet… :oops: :wink: As always, here is a good place to report said bugs.

And as always, the .team file for the release is available from my site, along with the Subversion repo and SVN::Web front-end thereto. And for those of you following along on SVN, the 0.5.1 release branch will get bug fixes for all the aforementioned inevitable bugs.

And since having them scattered throughout the thread is sort of useless, here's a reference list of all the T2 addons I've released:
  • Alchemic Arcanorum (current release 1.0.0): Starts Alchemist characters with an Alchemic Arcanorum object from my old ToME:Arcanorum T2 module, which can be used to store and extract essences.
  • Gender Parity (current release 1.0.1): Modifies assorted NPCs that don't particularly have to be male or female so that they can be either randomly.
  • Go to Landmark (current release 1.0.1): A quickie port of my T4 addon of the same name; allows you to auto-travel to various landmarks like stores or up/down stairs via the "Show known landmarks" action on the <Esc> menu.
  • Neutral Townsfolk (current release 1.0.0): As requested by Thorondor. :wink: Modifies a few of the more harmless town denizens into the "Neutral" faction so they don't pester you.
  • ZAngband Monsters (current release 1.0.1): Adds ZAngband monsters (hence the name). Untested.
  • Gondolin Book Store (current release 1.0.0): Also as requested by Thorondor. :wink: Adds a book store to Gondolin (hence the name…).
With no other outstanding feature requests, I'm kind of idly fiddling with summoning at the moment. We'll see how big a project that turns into. :shock: :wink: If there's some other unimplemented feature you particularly miss, don't hesitate to ask for it.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

phills
Low Yeek
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 8:32 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#552 Post by phills »

Is there any way to increase the font size? The menu item setting the font size doesn't seem to work with this mod, and there's no Big Font option.

Also, even the Big Font is probably not quite large for us old-timers, so I'd encourage an even bigger font option :D , if you get around to this issue.

Otherwise, the module is very cool. Although it's harder than I remember it. I could use an adventurer mode too :D
Last edited by phills on Mon May 17, 2021 4:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#553 Post by Zizzo »

phills wrote: Mon May 17, 2021 4:31 pm Is there any way to increase the font size? The menu item setting the font size doesn't seem to work with this mod, and there's no Big Font option.
Hmm, true, we're not currently doing anything in that area. I'll need to dig into the T4 module and see how it handles that.
phills wrote: Also, even the Big Font is probably not quite large for us old-timers, so I'd encourage an even bigger font option :D , if you get around to this issue.
[sound F/X: source diving] I'm not sure that's supported by FontPackage. Actually, that sounds vaguely like something Marson did in one of his UI addons; I should check there.
phills wrote: Otherwise, the module is very cool. Although it's harder than I remember it. I could use an adventurer mode too :D
That might be feasible. I'd probably implement it as an addon, though. :wink:
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

Zizzo
Sher'Tul Godslayer
Posts: 2023
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Contact:

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#554 Post by Zizzo »

And I think I've got this bashed together ready to release:

Release 0.5.2 "Large Print Version"

Not many bugfixes in this release:
  • Some bug fixes related to mimicry cloaks:
    • Some mimicry forms confer talents (invisibility for mice, web spinning for spiders, and so on), and my talent juggling in Player:recalcEverything() wasn't expecting that. :oops:
    • Also, it turns out that those talents are supposed to be conferred based on player level rather than Mimicry skill level.
    • As a minor tweak, the description in the mimicry talent tooltip of what powers/resists/etc. it confers based on your current skill level now also includes stuff you aren't getting yet, grayed out and with a note about what skill level you'll need to start getting it. So you'll have something to look forward to. :wink:
I've probably missed some reported bugs in the above; We Apologize for the Inconvenience.™ :oops: (Don't hesitate to report them again. :wink: ) Known bugs that are still under investigation include:
  • Odd jumpgate destinations in Wights quest.
  • Travak appearing multiple times (and apparently other artifacts…).
  • Randarts reporting *ID*'d info when just ID'd? Maybe some sloppiness in Object:getDesc().
  • Maze edge walls not visible. (Actually, is this still a problem? My recent tests aren't reproducing it.)
Mainly this release was about a few requested features:
  • As requested, a new game option "Display | UI font style/size". Currently we use this font setting in tooltips, the log scroller and the stats display on the left, as well in dialogs as usual.
  • Some internal tweaks to game option handling, to make it possible for addons to add values to an option. A tileset addon, for instance, would need to be able to add itself to the "Display | Graphics mode" option. :wink:
  • Speaking of which, as a fallback, if the "Display | Graphics mode" option is set to a tileset that doesn't exist (maybe you forgot to enable your favorite tileset addon for the character?), we default back to the standard Angband tiles.
The big news for this release, however, is something suggested by a user in PM: our first tileset addon!
gervais-bree.png
gervais-bree.png (90.9 KiB) Viewed 80 times
This is based on David Gervais' TomeTik tiles, which fortunately for my tile-scraping Perl script were laid out much the same way as the original Angband tiles we already include in the module. The link to the addon is down below in the addon list.

Since this is a fairly small release, I don't think I had room to introduce any new bugs, so any bugs you find were probably already present and just hadn't been found yet… :oops: :wink: As always, here is a good place to report said bugs.

And as always, the .team file for the release is available from my site, along with the Subversion repo and SVN::Web front-end thereto. And for those of you following along on SVN, the 0.5.2 release branch will get bug fixes for all the aforementioned inevitable bugs.

And since having them scattered throughout the thread is sort of useless, here's a reference list of all the T2 addons I've released:
  • Alchemic Arcanorum (current release 1.0.0): Starts Alchemist characters with an Alchemic Arcanorum object from my old ToME:Arcanorum T2 module, which can be used to store and extract essences.
  • Gender Parity (current release 1.0.1): Modifies assorted NPCs that don't particularly have to be male or female so that they can be either randomly.
  • Go to Landmark (current release 1.0.1): A quickie port of my T4 addon of the same name; allows you to auto-travel to various landmarks like stores or up/down stairs via the "Show known landmarks" action on the <Esc> menu.
  • Neutral Townsfolk (current release 1.0.0): As requested by Thorondor. :wink: Modifies a few of the more harmless town denizens into the "Neutral" faction so they don't pester you.
  • ZAngband Monsters (current release 1.0.1): Adds ZAngband monsters (hence the name). Untested.
  • Gondolin Book Store (current release 1.0.0): Also as requested by Thorondor. :wink: Adds a book store to Gondolin (hence the name…).
  • Gervais Tiles for ToME Classic (NEW, current release 1.0.0): Repurposes David Gervais' TomeTik tiles (reused here pursuant to the Creative Commons CC-BY-3.0 license) for use with our T2 module.
With no other outstanding feature requests, I'm kind of idly fiddling with summoning at the moment. We'll see how big a project that turns into. :shock: :wink: If there's some other unimplemented feature you particularly miss, don't hesitate to ask for it.
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."

phills
Low Yeek
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 8:32 am

Re: Porting ToME2 to the T4 engine

#555 Post by phills »

Nice! Thanks for the big fonts, and glad you liked the new tile idea. Eager to try out the new version.

Post Reply