Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

Everything about ToME 4.x.x. No spoilers, please

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
solar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 9:47 am

Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

#1 Post by solar »

Phase Door description says "At level 5, it allows you to choose the target area", but in reality you can choose the target area starting with level 4 of the talent.
Dimensional Step description says "At talent level 5 you may swap positions with a target creature", but in reality it swaps your positions at level 4 already.

solar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 9:47 am

Re: Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

#2 Post by solar »

While we are at it you could also make the descriptions more consistent by changing "At talent level 5" to "At level 5" to match other talents' descriptions

Moasseman
Wyrmic
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:32 pm

Re: Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

#3 Post by Moasseman »

Neither of these are bugs and are due to category mastery.

Effective talent level is gotten with (raw talent level) * (mastery), where mastery can be seen next to the name of the category and is most often (but not always) 1.3 for class' own categories and 1.0 for categories learned from other sources

Therefore, at 4 points in PD/Dim step, the actual talent leve lis 4 * 1.3 = 5.2
Friendly Neighbourhood Moderator, moan at me for a teleport if ya get stuck.

solar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 9:47 am

Re: Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

#4 Post by solar »

Ahh thanks I didn't know about that.
So that also means if I get my talent to level 5 with talent mastery 1.3 it will actually be level 6 right?

Moasseman
Wyrmic
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:32 pm

Re: Phase Door and Dimensional Step have incorrect descriptions

#5 Post by Moasseman »

Yes, you can see the effective talent level near the top of the tooltip.

Due to diminishing returns, it often doesn't really matter whether a talent is level 5 or 6 but there are certain talents with breakpoints that are above level 5, such as Possess of Possessor and Defiling Touch of Cursed/Doomed

I will move this thread to General Discussion as it's not a bug
Friendly Neighbourhood Moderator, moan at me for a teleport if ya get stuck.

Post Reply