ToME 2 maintenance

Everything about ToME 2.x.x. No spoilers, please

Moderator: Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
AnonymousHero
Spiderkin
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm

ToME 2 maintenance

#1 Post by AnonymousHero »

EDIT: Code repository has moved to GitHub

----
Hi all,

Considering that we're not going to be seeing a ToME module for T-engine 3 any time soon, I'm interested in maintaining a ToME 2.3.x branch purely for bug fixes.

The aim is to collect up some of the fixes which haven't made it into the CVS -- I might also put in some of the killerbunnies patches.

I might also add a separate branch for things where the "bug/feature status" is disputed, e.g. my multi-arm combat fix.

I might also update the build system to use CMake, but don't hold your breath :).

I'm probably going to just start with a snapshot of 2.3.5 and import that into gitorious.

Any objections?
Last edited by AnonymousHero on Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

madmonk
Reaper
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#2 Post by madmonk »

I don;t think anyone would have objection, but please could you use Hg just for consistency sake...

Everyone else is as well.
Regards

Jon.

martinuzz
Archmage
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#3 Post by martinuzz »

That sounds like a good idea, no objections here :)

madmonk
Reaper
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#4 Post by madmonk »

You should also check with Neil Stevens, since he is currently responsible for bug fixes, and so on.

Contact him through the Wiki.
Regards

Jon.

Xandor Tik'Roth
Keeper
Posts: 1545
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: The edge of the Abyss

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#5 Post by Xandor Tik'Roth »

I'll set up anything that you might need here forum-wise.
And it was such a good idea...

AnonymousHero
Spiderkin
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#6 Post by AnonymousHero »

Being addicted to git (rebase --interactive FTW!), I've decided to go with that.

I've made the repository available on Gitorious.

I've tagged the 2.3.6 version as 2.3.6-ah to indicate that it's an unofficial version and any character dumps taken also indicate that. Hopefully that'll be enough to avoid confusion.

Next up, I'll have a look at some of the lingering 64-bit problems. For example, the character dump shows skill modifiers "1498590290884165632.800" instead of "0.800". Hopefully it's just a display issue :).

A little longer term I'm also considering removing some truly obsolete stuff:
  • main-ibm.c (which appears to be DOS support)
  • main-net.c (hopefully not used, haven't looked into it)
  • irc.c
  • zsock.c (only used by the above AFAICT)
Binaries: I don't really have access to any non-Linux platforms (where it's easy enough to just compile your own copy), so I'd be very grateful if anyone who has access to OS X and/or Windows could try to build binaries for the version tagged 2.3.6-ah. If you do, please post the results here :).

I think that's about it for now.

AnonymousHero
Spiderkin
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#7 Post by AnonymousHero »

Hi guys and gals,

Just thought I'd mention...

Lot's of stuff done already -- do have a look at the Changelog.

Please let me know if there are any further fixes that you'd like to see incorporated and if there are any of the Wiki bugs-with-fixes which I've missed. (I still have a few of the Killerbunnies fixes lying around -- I'll try to get around to the remainder soonish).

One thing that's not mentioned in the change log is the shiny new CMake build system. I'd very much appreciate people having a go at compiling (instructions in building.txt) using the CMake build system and posting their experiences -- even if you aren't going to play "my" version of ToME2. It should be much easier and require less manual tweaking once you have the right libraries installed (SDL, X11, curses, etc.).

I'll also add that I've created a branch of Theme 1.2.0 where various fixes from the ToME 2.3.(3/4) releases and onward have been incorporated. That branch is also on Gitorious. This is probably going to be what receives the most playtesting by yours truly since I vastly prefer Theme over vanilla ToME.

Lord Estraven
Uruivellas
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#8 Post by Lord Estraven »

Code: Select all

make: *** No rule to make target `main-dmy.o', needed by `tome'.  Stop.
As far as I can tell main-dmy.c doesn't exist, and the whole thing compiles fine without it. I assume "dmy" stands for "dummy"?

AnonymousHero
Spiderkin
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#9 Post by AnonymousHero »

Correct. Did you get that from running with CMake?

Lord Estraven
Uruivellas
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:35 am

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#10 Post by Lord Estraven »

Oh... I used "make -f makefile.std". D'oh.

budswell
Wyrmic
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 2:08 am

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#11 Post by budswell »

Hi,
Have compiled a windows version based on v2.3.7-ah

I had to make a small change.
h-type.h
<stdint.h> is not available on windows platforms. (At least not when using the free MS studio). So I added an ifdef WINDOWS which will use the windows builtin __int32 for sb32.

I was too lazy to learn CMake, so just created a manual makefile and compiled with microsofts nmake.

Zip file includes
tome.exe
h-type.h
makefile
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mdzkezjym ... 3.7-ah.zip

Edit:
Hmm. Now its no longer working for me. Windows are openning, but all the screens are black, just yellow the cursor box. Don't know what has changed, I even got all the stuff from git again in case it was a lib/ini issue.
But I had started and played for a bit before. I'm on windows7. Hopefully it might work for some of you.

Edit2: Looks like the poblem is my OS. Even the official tome 2.3.5 (freshly downloaded) has the same issue for me now. Something inconsisteny on 64 bit win7 I guess. But means the v2.3.7-ah should work for the rest of you.

AnonymousHero
Spiderkin
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:48 pm

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#12 Post by AnonymousHero »

stdint.h should definitely be available since it's mandated by C99... are there any options for turning on C99 support in VS? (I'll note that the current code isn't actually C99 compliant -- I'll have a look at what's necessary to make it so.)

Please do try CMake, btw. You can download it at

http://www.cmake.org/cmake/resources/software.html

and it should be capable of generating Visual Studio projects. The whole point of using CMake is that it's supposed to be more portable, so any problems using it on non-Unix platforms is of interest :).

(Of course you won't be able to compile any frontends since the Windows frontend isn't included in the CMakeLists.txt, but it would still be interesting to see if it compiles everything else OK.)

budswell
Wyrmic
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 2:08 am

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#13 Post by budswell »

AnonymousHero wrote:stdint.h should definitely be available since it's mandated by C99... are there any options for turning on C99 support in VS? (I'll note that the current code isn't actually C99 compliant -- I'll have a look at what's necessary to make it so.)
Nope, no proper C99 on visual studio
https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStu ... wsignin1.0

Derakon
Halfling
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 12:45 am
Location: Seattle

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#14 Post by Derakon »

I recall reading in one of MS's official documentation bits somewhere that basically they only support C as a byproduct of supporting C++. That means that their C support is stuck at C89 or whatever the year was, and they aren't going to upgrade past that.

budswell
Wyrmic
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 2:08 am

Re: ToME 2 maintenance

#15 Post by budswell »

budswell wrote:Hmm. Now its no longer working for me. Windows are openning, but all the screens are black, just yellow the cursor box. Don't know what has changed, I even got all the stuff from git again in case it was a lib/ini issue.
I suspect the blackscreen was another instance of this issue
http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=2191

Think I had aborted out of a flash update in IE, maybe that "hung" a driver. I have been unable to reproduce it since.

Post Reply