ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1111 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 75  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Dumb questions thread
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:21 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:32 pm
Posts: 332
Thought I'd make a thread where I can ask my silly questions as I go. :)

1) How can sound (especially music) be disabled? Please tell me I'm missing a easy-to-find option somewhere.

2) Is there a way to change the font in use for ascii mode? Graphics in roguelikes just never felt right to me. ;) I'd guess the default ASCII font is the 10X20.FON file. I see that there is also 8X13.FON in data/font.

3) I prefer to be old school and play in ASCII. Is there a way to force ASCII at runtime or make the setting persist after starting a new game?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:49 am 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10049
Location: Angolwen
1) not yet in next version there is
2) the font is Vera/VeraMo/etc.ttf you could replace the font files with yours it should adjust accordingly. I might add an easier way to swtch fonts later
3) If you switch with the menu it should remember it forever

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 3:17 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 2:31 pm
Posts: 1251
Location: South Africa
How do I target "nothing"? I saw a monster, but haven't targetted it, so I know it's there (in the dark), but I can't target it, or anything behind it, now I cant fire arrows at it. :-(

To Forkbomb 1): Try deleting/renaming the music files. It should hopefully be robust enough to carry on without sound/music.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 3:38 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10049
Location: Angolwen
Yes removing the musics will work just fine.

You can target freely using shift+directions (the run keys in the keybinds)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 4:20 pm
Posts: 3
I tried removing the music files in Win7, but now the game crashes once it loads the dungeon. Other than that, this looks like a fantastic start and I'm excited to have a new roguelike to follow.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 5:21 am 
Offline
Wyrmic

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:08 am
Posts: 233
Location: California
Q: How do I see the list of commands? I'm having trouble finding basic things (throwing, moving diagonally, etc).

btw- I'm enjoying the game so far. Couldn't wait for the OSX version- playing on Win XP on my mac with (VMWare fusion).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 5:35 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 2:31 pm
Posts: 1251
Location: South Africa
Press Esc, and then on the menu you can set the controls ala a first person shooter game... click on the command and press the button you wish to assign to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 8:19 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:16 pm
Posts: 1022
Location: Inside the minds of all
I really feel kind of stupid with this, but how do I compile the hotkeys?

_________________
Final Master's Character Guides
Final Master's Guide to the Arena
Edge: Final Master... official Tome 4 (thread) necromancer.
Zonk: I'd rather be sick than on fire! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 10:45 pm 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:50 pm
Posts: 7
Location: NJ
Is there a way to cheat death this time around, or anything else for that matter? If not, will it be added in the finished version? I ran a search on the forums and heard it mentioned only once in the ToME 4 section, but it was vague and seemed to assume the reader already knows how to do it.

_________________
Don't eat the bagel. Just don't.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 11:05 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
there are several ways to cheat death actually :)

1) the legit way (blood of life)

2) the debug mode (you have to change some files, cant do it normally)

3) the other way I wont mention (involves purposely crashing tome)

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 2:39 am 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:50 pm
Posts: 7
Location: NJ
Shoob wrote:
2) the debug mode (you have to change some files, cant do it normally)


I don't suppose you'd mind explaining how, would you?

Shoob wrote:
3) the other way I wont mention (involves purposely crashing tome)


I actually know a similar trick, though probably not the one you're referring to, since it doesn't involve "crashing" per se. The problem is that it's such a pain to do every time I die. (So you can imagine how patient I am about restarting my character on every death.)

_________________
Don't eat the bagel. Just don't.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 3:51 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
Socran wrote:
Shoob wrote:
2) the debug mode (you have to change some files, cant do it normally)

I don't suppose you'd mind explaining how, would you?

sigh: <dont know why you would want this, but here, keep in mind this is cheating>

To enable it add a file named "tome.cheat.cfg" in your HOME/.t-engine/4.0/settings/ directory with the following line:
tome.cheat = true
. (highlight if you *have* to know, otherwise ignore)

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 3:30 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:16 pm
Posts: 1022
Location: Inside the minds of all
I feel really kind of silly asking this... but are items supposed to be auto ID'ed when you take them to their proper store (outside of arms and armor)? All potions and scrolls I brought were auto ID'ed, along with a ring and an amulet.

_________________
Final Master's Character Guides
Final Master's Guide to the Arena
Edge: Final Master... official Tome 4 (thread) necromancer.
Zonk: I'd rather be sick than on fire! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 11:51 pm
Posts: 1396
Scrolls & potions get IDed if there is one just like it on the shelves. You see the one, recognize that it looks exactly like one of yours, and then you know it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 5:26 pm 
Offline
Wyrmic

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:08 am
Posts: 233
Location: California
Q: Is there a way to ID equipped items? If no, is there a way to cancel reading an ID scroll that doesn't use up the scroll?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1111 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 75  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group