ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:31 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:34 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
My new Tinker Tinkering addon is where I'm accumulating small quality-of-life tweaks for tinker-using Embers characters as I think of them. Here's what I've got so far:
  • If I forget to detach the tinker from something when I take it off, I have to re-wield it to detach the tinker and take it off again, which is kind of silly. That's fixed by adding a "Detach tinker" action to the use-item dialog for objects with attached tinkers. This works from inventory or while wielded.
  • And speaking of things with attached tinkers in inventory, it can be hard to tell whether something in inventory has a tinker attached, since it isn't mentioned in the name or the tooltip. With some tinkers you can tell by the tinker-specific bits in the tooltip, but, say, a mental stimulator on a randart amulet wouldn't really be obvious. We cover that by adding the tinker name to the object name — thus, for instance, "gold amulet 'Randomexample' [steel mental stimulator]".
  • Healing salves have the same problem as healing infusions vis-à-vis regeneration infusions: you have to wait until you've taken a fair amount of damage before you can use it, or you've wasted a lot of it. The obvious solution for that is regeneration salves. [Still tweaking the numbers on those a bit; dunno how powerful they need to be relative to healing salves.]
  • Am I the only one bugged by the initial focus in the Create Tinker dialog starting in the search field, instead of the recipe list where I'm most likely to want to start navigating by keyboard? We tweak that to put the initial focus in the list; this one, though, is the one for which I could most easily be convinced that we need a configuration option.
I'll be adding more tweaks as I run into things that vaguely annoy me. :wink: If there are small tinker-related changes you'd like to see, here would be a good place to suggest them.

[Technical info:]
Code:
Hooks:
  UseItemMenu:generate [to add the 'Detach tinker' action]
  UseItemMenu:use [to implement the 'Detach tinker' action]
  ToME:load [to load our regeneration salve tinker recipe]
  Entity:loadList [to load our regeneration salve object]
Superload:
  mod.class.Object:
    getName() [to add attached tinker name to object name]
  mod.dialogs.CreateTinker:
    init() [to put initial focus into the recipe list]

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:26 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Found something else that annoys me: reading the description in the Tinkers dialog of a tinker that confers a talent and thinking, "okay… so what does this talent actually do?" We fix that in v1a, just pushed out, by adding the talent description to the tinker description in the dialog.

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:03 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Based on an excellent suggestion from Effigy, v1b (just released) now expands the description text for schematics to include a descrtion of the actual tinker it teaches you to make. Generally you'll only see the description of a schematic when it's in a store, but as Effigy notes, that's precisely when you need that information to decide whether to buy it.

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:25 am 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10144
Location: Angolwen
Oh I had failed to notice this addon :)
Nice!
Gonna integrate some stuff into the base game (so it works for Ashes too), namely the tinker appearing in the object's name and the detach tinker option.

BTW to answer a comment you put in the code: Object desc/name functions never get a use_actor because npc's don't really care about item descriptions :)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:05 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
darkgod wrote:
Oh I had failed to notice this addon :)
Nice!

*blush* (bows)

darkgod wrote:
Gonna integrate some stuff into the base game (so it works for Ashes too), namely the tinker appearing in the object's name and the detach tinker option.

Ashes has tinkers? I… Did Not Know That.™

darkgod wrote:
BTW to answer a comment you put in the code: Object desc/name functions never get a use_actor because npc's don't really care about item descriptions :)

Well, yes, but AIUI the whole point of the 'use_actor' parameter in the first place was to allow certain items to be described from the perspective of the Alchemist's golem.

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:15 am 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10144
Location: Angolwen
Demonologist's demon seeds are tinkers yes :)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:37 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Release v1c is for compatibility with v1.5, backing out a couple features that now come standard in the module: the "Detach tinker" item command and mentioning an attached tinker in an object's name (DarkGod went with slightly different highlighting than I used, but `s cool :wink: ). Should be no change in functionality otherwise.

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:13 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Since I normally disable EoR on non-Embers characters (as preemptive defense against saw horrors :shock: ), I had completely failed to notice that I'd unlocked steamtech classes in AoA. :oops: :wink: So, with Gunman Stan McKurt now busily shooting evil in the face, :mrgreen: I'm discovering all new minor inconveniences that need to be worked on, and since I'm not sure what the right fix for them is, I figured I'd get some feedback.

The most obvious wrinkle so far is that our Maj'Eyal tinker characters have both a transmo chest and an APE. So far it looks like you can either melt or transmo everything in your transmo chest by manually "Use"ing the corresponding item, but you can't manually melt something not in the chest (unless you manually set the APE as your default transmo source, which can only be done if there's nothing in the transmo chest and nothing on the floor at your feet, and is kind of a hassle anyway). Auto-transmo when you leave the level presumably also uses whichever default is set above.

Ideally, I think, we'd like to melt anything that will yield ingredients and transmo the rest for fortress energy; AFAICT the gold yield is the same either way. I think I can achieve this by hijacking Actor:transmoInven() at the right place, though I don't think I can get the prompt dialogs right that way. Something we want? Default behavior or have a game option to enable it?

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:09 am 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Zizzo wrote:
Ideally, I think, we'd like to melt anything that will yield ingredients and transmo the rest for fortress energy; AFAICT the gold yield is the same either way. I think I can achieve this by hijacking Actor:transmoInven() at the right place, though I don't think I can get the prompt dialogs right that way. Something we want? Default behavior or have a game option to enable it?

Well, I compromised and made it a game option that's on by default. :wink: Namely the new "Multiplexed transmogrification" option under Gameplay in v1d, just released. Note that this applies to all uses of either the transmo chest or the APE, including auto-transmo on level exit, manually transmo'ing stuff in inventory, or manually using either the APE or transmo chest. As I feared, I wasn't able to change the prompt dialogs to say e.g. "Melt 2 items in your APE and transmogrify 3 items?", but you can see from the message log that everything is getting transmo'd/melted the right way; We Apologize for the Confusion.™

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:17 am 
Offline
Wyrmic

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:38 pm
Posts: 287
When you remove an item (such as a steamsaw) does the tinker stay attached? Even if it doesn't disappear, it might still be better if any tinker attached is automatically put back separately into the tinkers inventory if you remove the item it's attached to.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:11 pm 
Offline
Sher'Tul

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:13 pm
Posts: 1413
Location: A shallow water area south of Bree
Steven Aus wrote:
When you remove an item (such as a steamsaw) does the tinker stay attached?

Yes. That's why I added the "Detach tinker" item action (which later got incorporated into the main game), so that you could detach a tinker from something after you took it off.

Steven Aus wrote:
Even if it doesn't disappear, it might still be better if any tinker attached is automatically put back separately into the tinkers inventory if you remove the item it's attached to.

…That seems like it would be inconvenient; it means you'd have to remember to manually re-attach the tinker if you re-wielded the item. All the cases I can think of where that would be useful are already covered by something else, like the "Swap tinkers" game option or the aforementioned "Detach tinker" command.

_________________
"Blessed are the yeeks, for they shall inherit Arda..."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
Wyrmic

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:38 pm
Posts: 287
Okay, sounds good.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group