ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:28 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
Ah, this is that lazy superload coming back to bite me, I suspect. I had to superload most of the textual description function to get it to display the proper stats on knives with Willful Hunter. The function is monstrous and includes tons of the item comparison stuff for all possible item stats and I could not work out how to overload only the part (one line) that I actually needed to change. I will have to take a look at the superloads that Embers is using and see if I can work out a solution.
I did not have Embers running when I tested this update, and as far as I know you will not get this error while playing the AoA campaign, at least in the meantime.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:28 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
nsrr wrote:
Ah, this is that lazy superload coming back to bite me, I suspect. I had to superload most of the textual description function to get it to display the proper stats on knives with Willful Hunter. The function is monstrous and includes tons of the item comparison stuff for all possible item stats and I could not work out how to overload only the part (one line) that I actually needed to change. I will have to take a look at the superloads that Embers is using and see if I can work out a solution.
I did not have Embers running when I tested this update, and as far as I know you will not get this error while playing the AoA campaign, at least in the meantime.


Fixed! In fact, both superloads have been completely removed, thanks to a hook courtesy of stinkstink. My way of changing the dam mod was messy and glitchy and just... wrong. This is much simpler, doesn't interfere with Embers, and should improve compatibility with other mods in general.

Plus a couple of other tweaks.

--
v 2.2.2

Updated for Embers and over all compatibility.

Sustaining Elemental Revenant will no longer increase the usage speed of your elemental calls and the elemental damage will project in a ball rather than a cone.

Sustaining Combat Focus no longer reduces your Mindpower.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:00 am 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:01 am
Posts: 8
A bunch of powers reference "Strider" which doesn't appear to be an available talent in any of the trees. Where is it, or is it actually called something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:22 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
Kureyn wrote:
A bunch of powers reference "Strider" which doesn't appear to be an available talent in any of the trees. Where is it, or is it actually called something else?


Strider is the last talent in Technique/ Mobility, a vanilla ToME generic talent tree that is available to Prowlers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:11 am 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:06 am
Posts: 6
I have a halfling prowler that seems be stuck at 87.5% global speed for some reason. Character is in adventure mode, so I'm wondering if dying while having one of the global speed affecting things active could have caused it.

Also, it would be nice to start with a couple of plain daggers in your inventory, as trying to get a dagger using prowler off the ground can be rather hard as it is.
E: I'm a noob. I didn't notice the daggers already equiped in the off set.


Last edited by WingedEspeon on Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:23 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
WingedEspeon wrote:
I have a halfling prowler that seems be stuck at 87.5% global speed for some reason. Character is in adventure mode, so I'm wondering if dying while having one of the global speed affecting things active could have caused it.

Also, it would be nice to start with a couple of plain daggers in your inventory, as trying to get a dagger using prowler off the ground can be rather hard as it is.


Hmm... I'll have to double check the abilities that affect global speed and make sure they are updating properly. Knowing which talents your Prowler had would be helpful. Could you post or message me a link to the character in the vault? I'll take a look into it anyhow, but that might point me in the right direction.

You'll be happy to know that Prowlers do, in fact, start with a pair of daggers, as well as mindstars. They start equipped in the off slots ('q' to swap weapons, by default) rather than in the inventory.

And thanks for the feedback!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:30 pm 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:40 am
Posts: 641
Kureyn wrote:
A bunch of powers reference "Strider" which doesn't appear to be an available talent in any of the trees. Where is it, or is it actually called something else?

If you have Assassin or the beta rogue rework, they mmmmight have removed that talent, if you don't see it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:51 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
nsrr wrote:
Hmm... I'll have to double check the abilities that affect global speed and make sure they are updating properly. Knowing which talents your Prowler had would be helpful. Could you post or message me a link to the character in the vault? I'll take a look into it anyhow, but that might point me in the right direction.


Ok, so never mind that, I was able to find the character pretty easily once I got home to my computer. You weren't running any other add ons that might have been conflicting and you were playing a straight-up Prowler, no Adventurer shenanigans, so that rules those out. That just leaves Prowlers' two talents that affect global speed.

So I tested them out in dev mode and tried dying in Adventure mode with various levels of Adrenaline and with and without the Nimble effect active, and my Prowler's global speed was always properly reset to 100%. As far as I can tell it is not related to dying while either buff is active.

Without knowing when the speed loss occurred and under what circumstances, it would be really hard for me to figure out what might be causing this. There is even the chance that it is just a glitch with this one particular character that isn't related to the add on at all. Have you had the problem with any other Prowlers you may have played?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:54 am 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:06 am
Posts: 6
I haven't had the glitch with any other prowlers I have played, unless is trigger on a character that has already died. I'm not sure when it triggered exactly, but the character had just completed the boss fight for the storming the city quest. It might be an issue with tome itself, I have had some trouble with the game freezing when I alt tab and a one time bug where I couldn't close the character screen.

E: I seem to have encountered the same bug with a shalore prowler right around to time I put points into adrenaline, although only decreased global speed to 96% this time. I'm wondering if leveling up adrenaline to the point that it give the speed increase when enemies are present would cause the problem. (you don't get the increase when enemies come into sight because you don't have the full talent yet, but you lose global speed when they leave/get killed as you now have the talent.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 9:35 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
WingedEspeon wrote:

E: I seem to have encountered the same bug with a shalore prowler right around to time I put points into adrenaline, although only decreased global speed to 96% this time. I'm wondering if leveling up adrenaline to the point that it give the speed increase when enemies are present would cause the problem. (you don't get the increase when enemies come into sight because you don't have the full talent yet, but you lose global speed when they leave/get killed as you now have the talent.)



If it is caused by Prowler, I'd suspect Adrenaline over Nimble. Nimble grants a temporary effect that gives you a global speed bonus, while Adrenaline adds and removes a temporary value to the player which increases global speed, which can be slightly more wonky.

As the add on does have talents that affect global speed, and it has happened to more than one character, it seems likely that something is going wrong with it, but I can see anything in the code for Adrenaline that would cause a permanent speed decrease. The values for both speed and life regen are checked and reset every time the player acts, and putting points into talents on the level up page will cause a turn to pass, triggering the callback. Leveling it up 'mid-fight' should not have any adverse affects.

Could be that I'm just totally over-looking something because it's been a while since I've delved into this code (or because I'm a total hack), so here's the callback, in case any modders or devs happen to spot something I'm missing:

Code:
   callbackOnAct = function(self, t)
      -- Remove the existing regen rate
      if self.temp_adrenalineSpeed then
         self:removeTemporaryValue("global_speed", self.temp_adrenalineSpeed)
      end
      if self.temp_adrenalineLife then
         self:removeTemporaryValue("life_regen", self.temp_adrenalineLife)
      end
      self.temp_adrenalineSpeed = nil
      self.temp_adrenalineLife = nil
      -- Calculate visible enemies
      local nb_foes = 0
      local act
      for i = 1, #self.fov.actors_dist do
         act = self.fov.actors_dist[i]
         if act and self:reactionToward(act) < 0 and self:canSee(act) then nb_foes = nb_foes + 1 end
      end
      -- Add new regens if needed
      if nb_foes >= 1 then
         if nb_foes > 4 then
            nb_foes = 4
         end
         self.temp_adrenalineLife = self:addTemporaryValue("life_regen", t.getLifeRate(self, t) * nb_foes)
         if self:getTalentLevelRaw(t) >= 3 then
            self.temp_adrenalineSpeed = self:addTemporaryValue("global_speed", t.getSpeed(self, t) * nb_foes)
         end
      end
   end,


I really wish I could figure this out, but I just can't replicate the problem or see any cause for it :/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 8:06 pm 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:00 am
Posts: 563
Just a heads up, I'm getting a ton of sent error reports relating to Prowler w.r.t. Anticipation and Swarm removing the combat_atk temp val.

Code:
error removing prop combat_atk with id nil

backtrace:
    function: removeTemporaryValue (Lua) at @/engine/Entity.lua:946
    function: deactivate (Lua) at @/data-prowler/effects.lua:408
    function: removeEffect (Lua) at @/engine/interface/ActorTemporaryEffects.lua:218
    function: removeEffectsFilter (Lua) at @/mod/class/Actor.lua:5798
    function: doRestoration (Lua) at @/data-orcs/talents/steam/avoidance.lua:165
    function: ??? (Lua) at @/data-orcs/talents/steam/avoidance.lua:182
    function: onTickEndExecute (Lua) at @/engine/Game.lua:313
    function: tick (Lua) at @/engine/Game.lua:304
    function: tick (Lua) at @/engine/GameTurnBased.lua:49
    function: ??? (Lua) at @/mod/class/Game.lua:1271


Code:
error removing prop combat_atk with id nil

backtrace:
    function: removeTemporaryValue (Lua) at @/engine/Entity.lua:946
    function: on_merge (Lua) at @/data-prowler/effects.lua:376
    function: setEffect (Lua) at @/engine/interface/ActorTemporaryEffects.lua:124
    function: callTalent (Lua) at @/data-prowler/talents/prowler.lua:134
    function: fireTalentCheck (Lua) at @/mod/class/Actor.lua:4989
    function: attackTargetWith (Lua) at @/mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:590
    function: attackTarget (Lua) at @/mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:183
    function: ??? (Lua) at @/data/talents/cursed/slaughter.lua:218
    function: xpcall (C) at =[C]:-1
    function: ??? (Lua) at @/engine/interface/ActorTalents.lua:147

_________________
<astralInferno> poor stunt
<astralInferno> you suffer so that others may suffer in the intended way

Have a save in need of fixing? Open a ticket, send me a copy of your save: http://www.te4support.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:34 pm 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
Well that certainly is not good. I'll do my best to get this straightened out ASAP.

I haven't released any updates for this since 1.4.6, I believe. Were there any changes made in .7 or .8 that could be related? Might point me in the right direction.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 12:36 am 
Offline
Spiderkin

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:00 am
Posts: 563
Hmm. I can't think of one offhand; pop in to the IRC channel and someone can maybe be more immediately helpful than I am.

_________________
<astralInferno> poor stunt
<astralInferno> you suffer so that others may suffer in the intended way

Have a save in need of fixing? Open a ticket, send me a copy of your save: http://www.te4support.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:49 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
Stuntofthelitter wrote:
Just a heads up, I'm getting a ton of sent error reports relating to Prowler w.r.t. Anticipation and Swarm removing the combat_atk temp val.


Ok, I took a look at things when I got home from work.

I don't /think/ Anticipation should be causing any problems. Both the lines referenced in the tracebacks are in the code for the Swarmed effect. One is in the 'on_merge' function and the other is in the 'deactivate' function. Also, Anticipation does not affect combat_atk.

I ran around a bit in dev mode and tested it out. The effect appeared to be applying properly. It would affect the target, stack if they were affected again, and expire when the duration ran out. However, I noticed that when it began to stack that the target's accuracy was actually going up, instead of down. I'll get to that, but I'll note first that the target's accuracy was restored to the original value when the effect expired. I couldn't get an error to pop.

So, it turns out that I had inverted a sign in the on_merge function. That was causing targets who were affected by multiple stacks of Swarmed to actually get a bonus to their accuracy, rather than having it reduced. That was an easy fix, but I'm not sure if it is at all related to the reports you are getting.

I would upload the change anyhow, but now that I have it stacking properly, I noticed that it can actually cause the targets accuracy to go negative. It's restored to the proper value when the effect expires, and it didn't cause any errors in the bit of testing I did, but I wasn't sure if a negative value there could potentially create more problems, so I decided to hold off.

I might hop on the IRC this weekend and see if I can pick someone's brain on this. I'm seriously out of practice at this, and not a professional coder by any means, so there's also a fair chance I'm just overlooking something obvious.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:50 am 
Offline
Archmage

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:45 pm
Posts: 441
Location: Monastery of the White Monks
Reworked the Swarmed effect in an effort to eliminate possible errors. While I was working on it I felt that it could use some balance adjustments, as well. Plus a couple of general changes that I had planned which were quick to implement.

v.2.3.0

Reworked the passive effect from high levels of Swarm. The effect will now only be granted at talent level 5 (note: this is effective level, not raw, as it was before; Prowlers will unlock it with 4 points, while an Adventurer would need all 5).
The effects no longer stack, the duration has been increased to 4 turns, the chance to apply a disable is a flat 25%, the accuracy penalty now scales with your Willpower and has been increased to adjust for not stacking. Damage was adjusted only slightly after the removal of stacking; it was way too high before, and it's primary purpose is to apply the slow, not to kill your foes while you dance around them xD

Prowlers now have unlocked access to Cunning/Survival at 1.3 mastery and Wild Attunement no longer grants levels in Heightened Senses. Wild Attunement will now restore Life and Equi even when there are no enemies in sight.

Cunning/Scoundrel is now locked.

Reduced the mastery level of both dual-weapon trees, cunn/tactical and cunn/dirty from 1.3 to 1.1.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jdisk and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group