ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:09 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:16 pm
Posts: 62
Hi,
After updating windows 10 to October version/update steam version don't work for me. I stuck at screen from link. Whatever i choose i get loading screen, and again screen from link. After rolling back to earlier windows version everything work properly. It seems game don't see T-Engine folder inside C:\Users\%user%

https://i.imgur.com/n68krQH.jpg

I will atached log, after i update again…
Non-steam version work fine
and three log files:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r81jsfwj8s2m ... yCM_a?dl=0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:48 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:17 am
Posts: 52
I am getting the same issue. It is also ignoring the windowed function i have in the T-Engine folder under resolution.cfg . Same with steam launch options -windowed and -sw . when i click on any of the 4 options, the game seems to crash and reload.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 7:39 pm
Posts: 2
Yes, confirm the same issue. This Windows October update is a disaster!

Let me know if any logs I can provide to help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:08 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 54
Do I understand it correctly that this issue only affects a steam version of the game while a non-steam version works just fine? It seems very strange. Anyway, there is an idea if anyone wants to try.

Please only try the following if you understand what you are doing.
In this example the game executable (t-engine.exe) is located in C:/games/tome/ and the folder with saves (/T-engine/) is located in C:/Users/Username/ (where Userneame is the name of the current user).

1. Create a back up of your save folder just in case.

2. Open cmd.exe and change the current folder by entering "cd C:/games/tome/" (without ""). Or you can use explorer to open the folder (C:/games/tome/) and with nothing selected SHIFT+right click on empty space -> open command line (I'm not sure how this option is called in English).

3. Enter "t-engine.exe --home C:/Users/Username/" (without "").

Does it also get stuck?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 9:16 pm
Posts: 62
yes, for me non-steam version worked fine, and only steam have issue.
After rollback to previous version currently i can't update again at this moment…


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:56 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:17 am
Posts: 52
Ok i tried that and that worked, but of course that just worked for that one booting of the program, and i'd need to do that for each launching of the game.

On a related note, I don't mind loading the non steam version, but is there any way to get the DLC i purchased on steam to work associated with my account, rather than only work on the steam version?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 11:53 pm 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5890
You can set Steam to add command line options by default to a specific game.
Right click the game and select Properties.
In the General Tab, Press SELECT LAUNCH OPTIONS...
Type the --home C:/Users/Username/ line there. (Without the t-engine.exe bit this time.)

For your Steam bought DLC:
Log in to te4.org and go to the Steam tab of your profile.
Use that to link your Steam account to the te4.org account and it should sync the two and share unlocks, achievements and purchases.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:39 am 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:17 am
Posts: 52
2 problems, 1. Launch option didn't work. both command line and powershell worked though. 2. my account is already linked to steam, and i still can't access the expansions through the non steam version.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:59 am 
Offline
Perspiring Physicist

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:43 am
Posts: 5890
1: That should work. Its the same thing as adding arguments via a command line. :/

2: They don't auto install. So open the non-steam game. Press Addons. Then the button top left for DLC. Then the individual DLC you don't have. Scroll down and press Download.

_________________
My feedback meter decays into coding. Give me feedback and I make mods.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:30 am
Posts: 1
Thanks for the command line fix, it works in Steam for me. I was going crazy trying to figure out why ToME wasn't working even after I uninstalled/reinstalled it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:00 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 54
@Gamer-man. There are two more options you can try. Create a shortcut for the game executable file and add --home C:/Users/Username/ in shortcut's properties. Or create a .bat or .cmd file (example for a file in a directory with t-engine.exe)
Code:
@echo off
t-engine.exe --home C:/Users/Username/

I'm not sure these options work if Username contains non Latin letters. In that case you can open cmd.exe and enter cd %temp%. It should display Username in a way you can use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:07 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:17 am
Posts: 52
i got the steam version to work on my desktop, and got the non steam version to work on my laptop, so i should be fine, thank you for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:26 pm 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:53 pm
Posts: 6
My computer decided the Windows 10 October Update was a-ok to install now. On first launch of TOME (running non-Steam desktop version) I got the "Hey, did you know you can online?" pop-up for the first time in a long time, logged in, and found a blank Load Saved Game window.

I tried the batch file fix from this discussion and TOME could again see the saved files but loading one went to black screen land. Trying to start a new game also went to black screen land.

Log file attached; the exciting bit (%User -> ********):

Loading savefile /save//
ERROR TRYING TO ACCESS READ FORBIDDEN PATH: 'C:\Users\********\T-Engine\4.0\tome\save\world.teaw' (sanitized to 'C:\Users\********\T-Engine\4.0\tome\save\world.teaw\')
Lua Error: FORBIDDEN READ PATH
At [C]:-1
At [C]:-1 mount
At /engine/Savefile.lua:515 loadWorldSize
At /engine/Module.lua:933 instanciate
At /engine/utils.lua:2284 showMainMenu
At /engine/init.lua:199
At [C]:-1 dofile
At /loader/init.lua:217


Attachments:
te4_log.txt [142.62 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:48 pm 
Offline
Higher

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 54
I assume the log is for the black screen situation (the game was started with --home). Is that correct? Could you please add a log when you start the game normally (without --home; blank Load Saved Game window)? Probably it's a good idea to make a backup of T-Engine folder first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:12 pm 
Offline
Low Yeek

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:53 pm
Posts: 6
Yes, the previous log file was for the --home batch file launch. Here's a log file for launching t-engine.exe directly, which has the blank Saved Game window and seems to lack other profile information (even when logged in). My next step was to try starting a new game under the direct launch but I'm a bit wary.


Attachments:
te4_log.txt [162.76 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group