ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:44 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
hum ? funny that ..

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:44 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
ok... here is the shield wall with no bugs
Code:
[LOG]    activates Shield Wall.
addTmpVal   stun_immune   1
addTmpVal   knockback_immune   1
addTmpVal   combat_dam   -10
addTmpVal   combat_atk   -10
addTmpVal   combat_def   18
addTmpVal   combat_armor   18
[LOG]    deactivates Shield Wall.
delTmpVal   combat_def   18
delTmpVal   combat_armor   18
delTmpVal   combat_atk   -10
delTmpVal   combat_dam   -10
delTmpVal   stun_immune   1
delTmpVal   knockback_immune   1


note that it occasionally happens with stone skin as well.

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:31 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
ok... nothing big now... just spelling :D

see invisibile -> see invisible
the lose poison message also has a mistake in it too (beign -> being)

thats all I can think of for now... I am trying to see if I can figure out what causes the shield bug too :(

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:18 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
it seems like certain monsters can cast talents that they dont have at high levels too.

so if a talent ends in lvl 5 they are casting it at lvl 6.

every single instance on my record reads this:
Code:
dumb ai talents can use   Poisonous Claw   6
with the monster and its id before that.

do you think something is wrong with my poisonous claw coding? here it is:
Code:
newTalent{
   short_name = "CLAW_POISON",
   name = "Poisonous Claw",
   type = {"physical/other", 1},
   points = 5,
   message = "@Source@ claws poison into @target@.",
   cooldown = 5,
   range = 1,
   action = function(self, t)
      local x, y, target = self:getTarget()
      if math.floor(core.fov.distance(self.x, self.y, x, y)) > range then return nil end
      self.combat_apr = self.combat_apr + 1000
      self:attackTarget(target, DamageType.POISON, 2 + self:getTalentLevel(t), true)
      self.combat_apr = self.combat_apr - 1000
      return true
   end,
   info = function(self)
      return ([[Claws into the target, filling it with poison.]])
   end,
}

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:27 am 
Offline
Uruivellas

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:08 am
Posts: 929
Location: Orange County, Ca
Quote:
darkgod:
Yes you can, read the initial post there is a settings.cfg file.
But bigger than you screen ? The default is back to 800X600, are you sure you have the correct file ?

...it appears to be defaulting to an obscure non-standard screen size bigger than 1152x864 but smaller than 1280x720.

I don't see a settings.cfg file either in the install directory, nor in my private user directory. I do, however, get this LUA error in stdout:

WARNING: No bootstrap code found, defaulting to working directory for engine code!
Lua Error: loop or previous error loading module 'socket'
At [C]:-1
At [C]:-1 require
At /engine/pre-init.lua:3

Running as administrator eliminates the LUA error, but does not change the screen size.

Quote:
madmonk
I still can't find the settings.cfg file.

Are you also running windows vista like I am?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:53 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
Running Linux (Mandriva 2009) at home and Windows XP at work.

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:57 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
Other comments:

When standing on a stair, either key will activate the stair, regardless of whether it is the appropriate key for that stair.

Can we use the <ENTER> key as well as the <RETURN> key?

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:10 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
More comments:

When presented with a list:

1) Sometimes the list numbering starts from (b) rather than (a)
2) In all cases the last item in the list can be obtained by hitting a letter that comes after it. Example: given a list of 3 items (a - c) pressing c, or d, or e, or ... z will choose c

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:29 am 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
In what cases do list start at 'b' ??

I dont understand what you are saying abotu stairs and RETURN/ENTER ?

As for settings.cfg, sorry silly me, it is not auto-created :)
Create it in ~/.t-engine/4.0/settings.cfg or on windows in HOME/T-Engine/4.0/settings.cfg
And put in :
Quote:
window.size = "1024x768"


I'l ltry to have an ingame menu for next RFT.

For the default resolution can someone take a screenshot of the whole screen and then mesure the real size of the window please? Sounds so strange ..

PS: Found the amulet switching bug !

PS2: the lua error about sockets is normal on windows I deactivated them I need to figure how to make it compile with socket support but I dont need it right now anyway

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:14 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
darkgod wrote:
In what cases do list start at 'b' ??
Usually picking up items

darkgod wrote:
I dont understand what you are saying abotu stairs and RETURN/ENTER ?

I can use either of the keys < or > and the stair will work. (Doesn't matter if it is an up or down stair or which of the 2 keys you press)

I like using the keypad <ENTER> key rather than the main keyboard <RETURN> key.

darkgod wrote:
As for settings.cfg, sorry silly me, it is not auto-created :)
Create it in ~/.t-engine/4.0/settings.cfg or on windows in HOME/T-Engine/4.0/settings.cfg
And put in :
Quote:
window.size = "1024x768"


OK, tried that, but did it with 1200 X1024, will try with your figure and let you know, very shortly!

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:17 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
The adventures of Willum, the Rogue

I have tried a multitude of ways of playing the Rogue, and have arrived at this, a viable playing style...

When you start put all points into Stealth (so Stealth is now 3/5 for level 1). Now go down Trollshaw - you will not survive the Tower, Skeleton Mages and Degenerate Skeletons can kill with one blow. So back in the Trollshaw you are hunting worms and Forest Troll. Even here you can get yourself into serious trouble very easily... make use of King's Gift it will get you through any 1 fight with a Forest Troll, worms are easy and to be preferred in a fight. Be prepared to run like a Rabbit for the stairs at the slightest sign of trouble - actually, I normally fight on the stairs.

When you get to Level 2 put your 2 points into Stealth, so now Stealth is a Known Talent, you can turn it on, but you won't have ShadowStrike so there is no point. In fact do turn it on, this is when you will really notice NPCs moving uncertainly. They know you are there, they are just not sure where. If you Stealth goes RED then you will have been spotted, run like a rabbit for the stairs (again!!!) and use King's Gift if necessary.

Continue to hunt Forest Trolls and Worms to level 3. Forest Trolls can now be fought (carefully) without using King's Gift during the fight, although you may have to use KG afterwards. You can take on the occasional SINGLE Stone Troll, but you will need to use King's Gift to get through the fight - I usually trigger at 50 HP.

Do not go below Level 1 or 2 of Trollshaw until you are Level 3, you won't survive! At Level 3 Shadowstrike is available put 1 point in there and use the other as appropriate. I normally put it into Weapon Combat for the increased chance to hit... but YMMV. Now turn on Stealth. Do not ever move without it again. Don't be worried by long lines of NPCs bearing down on you, as long as your Stealth is in Yellow they have not seen you and you are relatively safe! (Ha!) With a point in Shadowstrike you now have good chances against anything; but if you are spotted prepare to be mobbed, since Stealth is turned off automatically, it has a cooldown period, and suddenly you are very, very noticable (All the NPCs are muttering "Yummy!!!" right now).

So now I am 4th Level, I have 2 points in Shadowstrike, and am plugging away at my to hit bonus. Progress onwards from here... is uncertain but better than previous attempts! I still die using this technique, mainly because Stealth turns off at annoying moments (usually the worst moment!), I forget to turn Stealth on, etc. Remember that Shadowstrike only works when Stealth is on!

Note that I still have to use King's Gift after virtually every fight since the damage I do from every strike is still low (even with Shadowstrike), so it takes multiple hits to kill anything. Taking on Bill is out of the question at the moment, I reckon 6th or 7th level and it might be possible.

More anon on this, and it will probably be to report Willum's demise.

Willum just died, I saved the game to try and do the settings.cfg thing and it would not reload, checking other save files showed that the desc.lua file had not been created. I have started again and it has saved and loaded properly.

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:34 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
darkgod wrote:
As for settings.cfg, sorry silly me, it is not auto-created :)
Create it in ~/.t-engine/4.0/settings.cfg or on windows in HOME/T-Engine/4.0/settings.cfg
And put in :
Quote:
window.size = "1024x768"

Tried it with your window size and it does not seem to work.

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:58 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
hmmm... your rogue playstyle is different than mine... I play the up knife and weapon mastery first then invest in flurry. I generally get to lvl 6 or 7 before dying stupidly.

and yes, it does look like picking up stuff starts with 'b' I dont think anything else starts with b, but havent played yet today.

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:54 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
Shoob wrote:
hmmm... your rogue playstyle is different than mine... I play the up knife and weapon mastery first then invest in flurry. I generally get to lvl 6 or 7 before dying stupidly.
Yes, I tried that way as well, but could never get a consistently high level character on a regular basis, this way I get to level 4 every time on a consistent basis.

[Update] I also wanted to try out Shadowstrike...

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:37 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
Shadowstrike is too unreliable...

It completely relies on Stealth and when Stealth is working it is a very devastating attack; but if Stealth fails then you have to fall back on plan B...

And such is the investment that has been made into getting Shadowstrike you probably won't have anything else.

Shoob: Comments on the Rogue?

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group