ToME: the Tales of Maj'Eyal

Everything about ToME
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:04 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:37 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
No they do, when I mean talent level, I really mean: talent_level * talent_mastery
It's automatic in the engine so I dont need to think about it :)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:47 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
Could you people change code at game/modules/tome/class/interface/Combat.lua line around line 125 to that:

Code:
   if self:checkHit(atk, def) then
      local dam = dam - math.max(0, armor - apr)
      local damrange = self:combatDamageRange(weapon)
      dam = rng.range(dam, dam * damrange)
      print("[ATTACK] after range", dam)
      local crit
      dam = dam * mult
      dam, crit = self:physicalCrit(dam, weapon)
      print("[ATTACK] after crit", dam)
      if crit then game.logSeen(self, "%s performs a critical stike!", self.name:capitalize()) end
      DamageType:get(damtype).projector(self, target.x, target.y, damtype, math.max(0, dam))
      hitted = true



Then if you die by a billions damage hit, send me the last log entries it'll help me locate the bug.

Thanks

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:04 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
yay, I did it :D I got killed at last when they had a 5% chance to hit me :D lol... I probably should have tried to do this with a normal character. So far I have only seen skeletons doing it to me.

Code:
[ATTACK] with   nil    to    haxorz    ::    1   1   9   ::   1
checkHit   4   35.5
=> chance to hit   5
[ATTACK] after range   2229810165
[ATTACK] after crit   2229810165
[LOG]   Skeleton mage hits haxorz for #aaaaaa#2229810165.00 physical damage#ffffff#.
[LOG]   Skeleton mage killed haxorz!
Lua Error: /mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:83: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'energy_to_act' (a nil value)
   At [C]:-1
   At /mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:83
   At (tail call):-1
   At /mod/class/Actor.lua:223 attack
   At /engine/interface/ActorLife.lua:21
   At (tail call):-1
   At /engine/Map.lua:318 checkAllEntities
   At /engine/Actor.lua:49 move
   At /mod/class/Actor.lua:104
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At /engine/ai//talented.lua:30
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At /mod/class/NPC.lua:18 act
   At /engine/GameEnergyBased.lua:44 tick
   At /engine/GameTurnBased.lua:24 tick
   At /mod/class/Game.lua:164
327 frames in 10.001 seconds = 32.6967 FPS


but yeah, it does happen somewhere before your first statement... I am going to add another couple of print statements before the first one. brb with another killed guy soon.

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:07 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
darkgod wrote:
No they do, when I mean talent level, I really mean: talent_level * talent_mastery
It's automatic in the engine so I dont need to think about it :)
Cool... I did wonder!

OK so I looked at the skills and the requirements to max out ALL the skills:

Quote:
Warrior

Max out all skills: Level 47.

Includes the Knife Mastery requirement of Dexterity = 40
Includes the Health Requirement of Constitution = 40

Does not cater for equipment handling requirements

Quote:
Rogue

Max out all Skill: Level 45

Includes Mace Mastery requirement of Strength = 44
Includes the Health Requirement of Constitution = 39

Does not cater for equipment handling requirements


Quote:
Mage

Max out all Skill: Level 55

Includes School Mastery requirement of Magic = 40

Does not cater for equipment handling requirements

It makes for interesting reading, the Mage has the most to learn, and is balanced by only really needing to up his Magic stat.

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:19 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
Well a mage that does not raise willpower wont get very far I think too.

Anyway This is not final, check out my ideas/spells.ods in SVN, it has more spells.
Also there will be cross-class talents as in T2.
Mage having access to some combat talents and vice versa but with lower mastery obviously.


Ah thanks shoob, so the problem seems to be in damrange calc :)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:20 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
Though, I surely need more combat talents, and "misc" talents

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:03 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
actually... lookee here... (I added more print functions to show the damrange and the damage before range was applied)
Code:
[ATTACK] with   nil    to    me not lame    ::    1   1   16   ::   1
checkHit   4   16.7
=> chance to hit   14.397414280688
[ATTACK] damrange   1.3
[ATTACK] before range   -14
[ATTACK] after range   259826925
[ATTACK] after crit   259826925
[LOG]   Skeleton mage hits me not lame for #aaaaaa#259826925.00 physical damage#ffffff#.
[LOG]   Skeleton mage killed me not lame!



it looks like the damage messed it up not the damrange...

and it looks like the arkenstone got generated on that level too :( still havent gotten it yet.

and a question for everyone... has anything had anything other than a skeleton (any type) get an uber-hit on them?

and also later will the str requirements be adjusted on the weapons and armour? most of them would not be heavier and so wouldnt require more str to wield... they would however be rarer

also when will the mold powers be added in... I have gotten them quite a bit, but have to wait till they are implemented.

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:09 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
Ah thanks !
I fixed it to not do negative damage.

YEs str req getting higher is not "realist" but I think it will stay. If you want great armor you got to pay for it.

There is one mold power currently, you're not seeing it ??

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:23 pm 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: East of the sun, west of the moon
i cant access the G command without leveling up and this was the first time I leveled up without getting killed first after getting the power... I didnt really look.
I could do it again.

and I was thinking more of the weapons... but yeah... too powerful too early and get cocky and die horribly :D

I guess I could put a temporary fix in mine

just put this in?
Code:
      local dam = math.max(0, dam - math.max(0, armor - apr))

instead of:
Code:
      local dam = dam - math.max(0, armor - apr)

at line 126 of the combat.lua
right?

I am trying it out... let me know if you got a better solution.

_________________
Oliphant am I, and I never lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:28 pm 
Offline
Master of Eyal

Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:26 pm
Posts: 10230
Location: Angolwen
No that's exactly my fix :)

_________________
[tome] joylove: You can't just release an expansion like one would release a Kraken XD
--
[tome] phantomfrettchen: your ability not to tease anyone is simply stunning ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:03 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:21 am
Posts: 2257
Location: New Zealand
No I have only been whacked by skelebobs!

_________________
Regards

Jon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:10 am 
Offline
Keeper

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 3:08 pm
Posts: 1537
Location: The edge of the Abyss
Finally had to see what all the hubub was about this new-fangled T-Engine.

First of all: wow. One word says it all. The visual elements are totally awesome.

I'll be recording my thoughts here.

- Both the u and i keys bring up the inventory. Not sure why this is. Also, does the 'l'ook command no longer work?

- When you click the right mouse button to bring up the tactical, it says up top that you can press 't' to disable. Pressing 't' however brings up the "take off object" screen. Pressing 'T' is the correct key to turn this off

- When equipping an item, it would be nice if there was a comparison to your currently equipped weapon/armor/ring(s)/amulet at the bottom of the right side of that screen

- Scrolls of Magic Mapping don't appear to work properly. I read one and it didn't light up the level [Edit] Never mind... still can't figure out how to read scrolls

- Going for a two-handed warrior, so when I found a steel greatsword, I tried to equip it. When I did, it put up a message saying "cannot use currently due to another worn object." I had the iron shield equipped. I think it might be better to have it so that instead of saying you can't, maybe put in a [y/n] prompt saying something to the effect of "The weapon you want to wield requires two hands. Would you like to swap with your current equipment?"

- You can't freely transfer between inventory and equipment screens. [Edit] Oh, nevermind. I see why you can't do that

- It would be neat if, while you were in the inventory screen, you could click on a weapon/armor/amulet/ring to equip it instead of having to then go to the 'w'ield screen to do it. Especially if we're incorporating the mouse in the current version. (Also, a side note, are there any other Angband variants using the mouse?)

- Are we doing away with the Flasks of Oil for the Brass Lantern?

- Also, the Green Worm Mass is unfairly camouflaged against the background (though hitting 'T' twice highlights both your character and the enemies that you can see, a rather neat feature)

- I know it's been said before, but the screen resolution does need to be adjusted. I've got a 23" monitor, and it just barely clears the bottom of my screen

- Dumb question, but how do I quaff potions? I've tried hitting 'q' but that key isn't mapped to anything. I've tried left-clicking on the potion (like the game says you can) but it doesn't work. Tried using the arrow keys and the enter key, but nothing. Am I missing something?

- I'm also noticing that the equipment isn't static like it was in T2 (i.e. your light source always being in the 'm' slot)

- When your equipment gets down to the very bottom, it doesn't scroll with your cursor, which can lead to some awkwardness

- I read something early saying that while you had unlimited inventory, how much you could carry is limited to your strength. Where do I find this info?

- No towns/shops to get rid of the MASSIVE AMOUNT OF EQUIPMENT THAT YOU PICK UP?

I've played through the first level of the forest level without too many problems. The game does force you to think more strategically, though, and I really like the new leveling system. Very intuitive.

_________________
And it was such a good idea...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:17 am 
Offline
Keeper

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 3:08 pm
Posts: 1537
Location: The edge of the Abyss
Also, finally saw what everyone was talking about... I just got hit by a Skeleton Warrior for 2.1 billion damage. Here's the log...

Code:
[ATTACK] with   nil    to    skeleton warrior    ::    81.375   2   5   ::   1
checkHit   16.5   2.4
=> chance to hit   88.201704257487
[LOG]   Xandor Tik'Roth hits skeleton warrior for #aaaaaa#96.00 physical damage#ffffff#.
[ATTACK] with   nil    to    Xandor Tik'Roth    ::    1   1   9   ::   1
checkHit   7   5.05
=> chance to hit   57.736790528416
[LOG]   Skeleton warrior hits Xandor Tik'Roth for #aaaaaa#2181456443.00 physical damage#ffffff#.
[LOG]   Skeleton warrior killed Xandor Tik'Roth!
Lua Error: /mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:83: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'energy_to_act' (a nil value)
   At [C]:-1
   At /mod/class/interface/Combat.lua:83
   At (tail call):-1
   At /mod/class/Actor.lua:223 attack
   At /engine/interface/ActorLife.lua:21
   At (tail call):-1
   At /engine/Map.lua:318 checkAllEntities
   At /engine/Actor.lua:49 move
   At /mod/class/Actor.lua:104
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At /engine/ai//talented.lua:30
   At (tail call):-1
   At (tail call):-1
   At /mod/class/NPC.lua:18 act
   At /engine/GameEnergyBased.lua:44 tick
   At /engine/GameTurnBased.lua:24 tick
   At /mod/class/Game.lua:164
331 frames in 10.028 seconds = 33.0076 FPS
1915760 ticks  in 10 seconds = 191576 TPS
334 frames in 10.02 seconds = 33.3333 FPS

_________________
And it was such a good idea...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:52 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 11:49 pm
Posts: 1715
Location: West Virginia
(u)se potions, I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RFT3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:09 am 
Offline
Reaper

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 11:49 pm
Posts: 1715
Location: West Virginia
I can't play it.

1) The > key still doesn't work.

2) I can't see the bottom of the screen and can't move the window into a position where I would be able to.

Windows Vista 64 bit, 1440 x 900 screen resolution.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group